Over Fifty and Glum - a poetic reworking of an old song

in #poetry7 years ago

Knock, knock, is there anybody home?
Just click the wheel if you can hear me
Relax now, we know you're feeling down
We can ease your pain
Get you on your feet again
That's right, just let your worries go
Just write the facts
You can show us where it hurts

      I have no plan, my hair's receding
      My youth is distant, far away
      I am writing only twice a week now
       I see many words but I don't read them
      When I was younger I had a purpose
      My life felt full of inspiration
      Now I've got that writer's block again
      There's nothing I can find to say
      Everything is bland or mundane
      I have become over fifty and glum

What's that
Agenbite of inwit?
You can scrub you hands
With all the latest toiletries
You can purge and cleanse
Do all the righteous things
Keep yourself going until the final bell
But when you hear that knock, it's time to go

      When I was younger I half saw a holy dream
      Hiding in the corner of the room
      I turned the page and it had disappeared
      I can never find that book again
      The time has passed, my dream is gone
      I have become over fifty and glum

eyes.jpg

This poem is freely adapted from this song. Did you spot it?

Thank you for reading.

Sort:  

This post received a 3.0% upvote from @randowhale thanks to @richardjuckes! For more information, click here!