Death in the Mirrordom

in #poetry5 years ago

dark-3061610__480.jpg


I bought yet another mirror today.
Way too many have met their deaths at my wobbly hands.
Were their deaths fated like their ghosts whisper?
Did they deserve death by virtue of some decree in the world of mirrors?


What crimes did my deceased mirrors commit?
Did they fail in service to me or to their own kind?
Condemned to die at my hands by a fall to shattered pieces.
You and me; unsuspecting executioners in the world of mirrors.


If they had deserved death, for what crime?
Lying I'd say, time after time, and without remorse.
To my face, every live mirror after a dead other.
You have brown eyes, not black like your mama says.
You are fatter! Your dieting was such an expensive waste.
Your makeup is perfect! People cringe for no reason.
You are happy, your heart only breaks with joy.
Lies! Sickening lies! Guilty or not guilty?


Save my new mirror from same ill fate, will you?
Pray tell what you see when you look at me.
Plain-Jane or exotic beauty? Cheerful belle or sad puss?
Do you see different than my mirror shows?
Do you see different than I perceive of me?
Do y'all who look your fill see the same me?
Do your eyes have one mind?
Who lied; I or my deceased mirrors?


How sure am I that you are an honest judge?
How sure are you that you are not blinded to the truth?
Aha! The invincible and elusive truth.
Who knows it?
Who has seen it?
Who shall tell it?
Alas, we must await the fifth
Who shall go before the ruler of the mirrordom
And tell the tale of the four
To decide the fate of the first; my new mirror
While I, the second and you, the third look on
For truth, the fourth, to be told.


Image was obtained from pixabay.


An original written by @royalrose


Sort:  

Congratulations @royalrose! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!