A Siren's Call...

in #poetry6 years ago

In the dead of the night
You call out to me
Like a siren unto sailors
So irresistible, but unto death

I loose control of my very being
You awaken my primitive instincts
Life has no meaning
And my life ends

My heart skips a beat
I gasp for breath as I'm pulled back
Pulled back to the land of the living
I've been given a reason to fight
a4b24331-04a1-42e6-9022-cbad5f46d786.gif
Source

I push back and you seduce
This is an unfair fight
Force always beats coersion
But am I really winning?

I stand my ground
Lift my hands, make a fist
Wait! Am I even standing?
The world begins to swirl

What magic is this?
Who permitted magic in this fight?
You cheat!
But hope is never lost

I try to think, painstaking slow progress
What to do... How to counter
I realize there's little to be done
At least it's not too late to save myself

I begin to walk
Each step more agonizing
I'm loosing vision, end in sight
I fall and give in to the slumber

IMG_20180303_063844c.png
I shall live to fight another day

Sort:  

The battle is lost, but the way is ours to win. I shall also live to fight another day.