Of things within and without

in #poetry6 years ago (edited)

FB_IMG_1536152304635.jpg

When people wear smiles to cover their pains
Do you fail to tell them that I said it's okay to cry?
That a woman doesn't carry a still born baby in her womb
A pain is supposed to be aborted not reared
Aborted not by talk or smiles but tears, words of ink and simmered thoughts
But tell me
What is humane in me?

If my mother flings her flip flop at me
Do I need to take it back to her
To receive another dose and tablets?
Or should I run?
And get beaten when I sleep at night?
Tell me
What's African Mothers to me

When the mosquito whisper in my ear 'will you marry me'?
When I lay my lonesome loathsome head to sleep
Do the mosquito take my blood for a bride price?
Or give me malaria for a dowry?
Tell me
What is nature to me?

If the wind blows hot and cold
The sky cries rain and sunlight
Does the lion give birth or the tortoise nurse offsprings?
If the river overflows its banks
Does its get richer?
But Tell me,
What are tales to me?

Do I need to graduate at 25?
Marry at 30?
Build a house at 35?
Before I usurp the title 'successful'?
Do I need to give my aging mother grandchildren
Before I can talk to her without being reminded of it?
Tell me
But what's Manhood to me?