Orthodontist: An Original Poem

in #poetry6 years ago

image
The terror of my month is in a big, white building,
Keeping my teeth straight is what they are instilling.
A lady comes out and leads me to a chair,
This is just the start of the horrid nightmare.

My mouth is spread wide and is thoroughly dried out,
My entire tongue feels like a California drought.
With a small, little brush, some cement goes on,
Then Metal is put on top, they instantly bond.

A scary blue light shines from a long, white machine,
It beeps once or twice, I try not to make a scene.
This painful process is repeated on every single tooth,
What happened to my teeth? They are no longer as smooth!

Every month, they are cranked tighter and tighter,
Every month, the light at the end of the tunnel gets brighter and brighter.
The metal is all taken off, FREEDOM!
“Here’s two retainers! To keep your teeth straight, you will need ‘em!”

Photo from: http://undead-earth.com/wordpress/4714/2013/evil-dentist