Across the waves

in #poetry2 years ago (edited)

image.png


Across the waves


Drowning above the surface, lost far out at sea
No ship set sail this night, nor will set out again
Pulled under and caught, the tide will set me free.

In the waters I left you, swirling under the waves
A drop in the ocean caught, before the ripple began
and in the darkness drank, all the darkness craves.

Light floats by dancing, steps I cannot lead
Against the current fighting, but breath is not enough
A thousand eyes are watching, just not the two I need.


Taraz_Hive.png


Sort:  

Some good prose here man. I suck at poetry but I can certainly appreciate it!

The two eyes got me in the feels man!

I never know if anyone else is going to feel anything when they read my poetry - I am not great at it, but it is a useful and uncomfortable process to go through.

So, thanks for reading and commenting!

Yeah I hear you man, it's good to do uncomfortable things sometimes!

Are you on another daddy daughter weekend? I couldn't remember if I read that in one of your earlier posts yesterday.

Oh dear. drowning in sorrow, drowning in the drink, drowning in the ocean, all the same.

Against the current fighting, but breath is not enough

Powerful poem, one that leaves me with questions and images and memories and new thoughts.

one that leaves me with questions and images and memories and new thoughts.

Is this the purpose of art and poetry? It is difficult for me to know if it has this effect on anyone other than myself.

Imagination might just be the meaning of life. Art and poetry jumpstart my imagination. So to answer your question, yeah.

A thousand eyes are watching, just not the two I need.

I think we will always feel the absence of the two eyes in life.

Your poem took me nearby a seaside while reading. It is nice to see poems from you ;)

Have you ever sat out on a beach in the evening, looked out to see and reflected on your life? I wish I lived near the sea still.

I even swimmed at night. I always think that living nearby a sea is privilege. For this reason, I will move to a city in Aegean in my retirement time.

That sounds like a great idea. I have hoped that one day, I can build a small mostly self-sufficient home on a remote beach :)

Most people here do what I said if they have a good influx money. However, it could be more difficult in the future because Russians and Ukrainians, after arabs, are buying houses in that area due to the war. This causes pricing of houses hikes.

Light floats by dancing, steps I cannot lead
Against the current fighting, but breath is not enough
A thousand eyes are watching, just not the two I need.

Dear my friend @tarazkp, Although I am not good at speaking English as an East Asian, I sympathized with your emotions while reading your poems!

I admired your talent as a poet for sure.😃

Perhaps you have poetically expressed the pressure and anxiety that you must succeed!
A stranger who can't be Finnish after all @tarazkp !

I don't think it is about success in this poem, but it is in the eyes of the beholder :)

I need to step up my game dude. Nice one.

The sea may be difficult to stay in, but it is a splendor to the eye with the beauty of its creatures and brightness Waves are like chapter of sound joy for relaxation that can be feeling by our hearts

Do you live by the sea?

No, but I go to the sea during holidays, things that I look forward to seeing are always more valuable than the ones in front of me.

beautiful

Thank you

By the way. Why don't you write more poems?

Ummm, because I think it would be weird for my account to have too much here.