Behind the Image

in #poetry5 years ago

tom-gainor-737280-unsplash.jpg
Photo by Tom Gainor on Unsplash

I scramble to avoid
The detritus of past mistakes
And sometimes I am buoyed
By successful dodging of their aches.

How does one learn to thrive
In this land of legal but unlawful
That without concern imposes the awful
Struggle of ensuring one's soul can survive?

I take each day, hand-over-hand,
And climb toward Meaning with each breath.
Ever the urge to understand,
Always the fight against love's death.

How does one learn to thrive
In this land of legal but unlawful
That without concern imposes the awful
Struggle of ensuring one's soul can survive?

Beyond this seeming battlefield
The matrix from which all Becomes
Will always and with Wisdom yield
Beyond the sum of all our sums.

Sort:  

So mind grabbing, I love every word. I am knowing yet stunned by their pattern. So deep and beautifully written.

Posted using Partiko Android

Your words of appreciation are deeply felt and appreciated. Thank you for taking the time to share them with me, and you are so incredibly encouraging. (-:

That one really captures the mood of our times! Maybe that mood underlies all times though!

Thanks, Claire. Well, I think the mood applies to life in general, in terms of the inevitable challenges, but the
"legal but unlawful" part seems unique to our times, in that I witness whole societies losing their moral compass. Critically important for Humanity to keep the wisdom that our compass holds, alive.