Poem of the day 12: Who I Am

in #poetry6 years ago (edited)

This is one of those poems that I just felt the words flow and I know it has a religious connotation at the end but it just flowed when I wrote it all out. Hope y'all enjoy and please remember to subscribe, comment, thumbs up.

Who I Am

Who I am
I am the lonely
Man you pass on the street
Begging you for something to eat
Who I am
I am the guy in your class
Having so much to offer
But quiet and to myself
I am afraid of you because you
Say I am uncool
Who I am
I am that mother on the clock
Working two jobs
Just trying to get by
To send her kids to school
Who I am
I am that little child scared to death
When daddy comes home and
Hits mommy and me
Who I am
I am that person in the hospital
Hoping for a cure for cancer and
Losing my hair
Who I am
I am that one kid in class
Who always sits in the back
Acting out because my dad left
A long time ago
And my mother doesn’t love me
Who I am
I am that person you pass every day
But you never say anything to because
I am different
Who I am
I am the pretty girl that
Everyone wants to be
But nobody
Wants to get to know
Who I am
I am the guy in class
Everyone makes fun of
But I still care about
And love
Each and every one of them
Who I am
I am the way
The truth
The light
I am the alpha and omega
I am the one that came to die for you
I am here to test you
Will you pass or fail
Will you find out
Who I am

By: Thressa (Dunn) Scott
Copyright: January 2004

I would like to implore my subs to please check out my friend's channel and help his wife out if you can because she is losing her sight rapidly. Here is the link to his channel and one of the videos, please listen to all the videos to understand their journey:

https://www.youtube.com/user/wewilhelm

and here is his gofund me link: https://www.gofundme.com/hvx5r-the-gift-of-sight

Thanks anything that can help them would be much appreciated.