Poem / Love has a Price

in #poetry6 years ago

Love has a Price


Image Credits

There was strong tension between her lips,
As she pouted unhappily, hand on her hips.
She didn’t seem very impressed,
By the man that held her just below her wrist
He sighed in desperation as he let go of her hand
She looked at him for a while… The whole scene, quite sad

There were years between them,
Each year laced with memories, soft lullabies and melodies
The couple being together for what seemed like eternity,
Slowly falling apart, unravelling at the seam
They once promised forever, but now that was just a dream

She took a step backwards, looked at her watch and mumbled a line.
He looked at his out of habit, thinking ”why isn’t she mine”
What had he done that led to this catastrophe?
What had run out? What had dulled the ecstasy?

She walked off into the distance, leaving him with a note,
On it she wrote, ”We’re falling apart, there’s nothing left…
You were one with my heart, but now we’re cleft
Please leave it in the past, this simple request is all I ask.”

He stood at the bench for a while, trying his best to fake a smile.
The tears slowly escaped his eyes,
He trembled as he realized,
All that he had was now over, there was no reason to stay sober.

The love of his life now lost,
He saw that love had a cost.
The price paid in full,
As his heart strings were pulled
Stretched to the end, until they could no longer flex or bend

Note: If there are any spelling errors or things you disagree with, I would appreciate it if you let me know :)

By Ethan
2018/01/08

Thanks for reading, I hope you enjoyed! If you did and want to hear more you can follow me here (^~^) <(^~^<)

Sort:  

Beautiful truly beautiful 👍

Love the poem, beautiful expression!

Lovely really enjoyed @xxsenpaixsamaxx Upvote and follow you for more amazing read like this and wish you a great year ahead.

Bro.... Can I hit you up on discord.

nice poem :)

It broke my heart. A good poetry indeed.

Regards,

Jhez

Who can mend a broken heart?

That good reading I love, you are very good at writing! I invite you to read my story I hope you like it
https://steemit.com/life/@josegarm/where-everything-began

Nice poem every day senpai...
I like your poem like be a real story in life

indeed it has a price thank you for sharing these wonderful words

I'm never bored to read your excellent poem, Senpai! :D

It's very expensive I think because we have to pay the price. It costs you more than money, maybe more than life. Haha, I'll just enjoy and grab the free love that's around me, life would be easier. Great pain-full poem!! Some would say that in every piece the creator makes, some truth about him lies behind it. :D

</3 T_T Why do things have to end? sigh. This poem is really sad. T_T And the last as well as the second to the last stanza stirred up my heart huhu. So heartbreaking, but it was so nice it's just that it pained my heart reading this. But anyways, you did great again, Ethan. This poem is just so beautiful T_T

Tryeth think. So much beautifull

very nice and touching too. "Stretched to the end, until they could no longer flex or bend" this hit me right in the feels.

This poem illustrates how powerful and devastating love can be.
Love is one of our main purpose in life ..
I'm new on steemit and it's a pleasure to come accross your poem.
I also write poems, of all sorts : here is one that I wrote : https://steemit.com/nature/@stl.nolaim/plants-are-life-funny-poem-to-cheer-them-up

Please feel free to follow me :)

hey genos! Is this love?

I enjoy your post. thanks

Nicely written. Powerful and moving.

This is beautiful!

Your merge of anime with poetry is dope... Already following to see more of your work.
You can as well view some of my poetry @johnakharia

Heartbreaks brings beautiful poetry!