When You Think Too Much | A Poem

in #poetry3 years ago (edited)

received_192508352612820.jpeg

I don't know if I'm the only one
Who feels uneasy in their head
When thoughts branch out as fast as fireworks
And sums to wishing I was dead.

I think that people soon then hate me
When I stop talking to them and go away.
But when we talk and clear things up
No one says they want to push me away.

After a few days of full assurance,
I feel lonely, sad, and insecure
That maybe I've offended someone a year ago
In our chat--of the date I'm sure.

Things like this happen as a cycle
And it really gets noisy in your head
Like turning on a decade deactivated account
As notifs and messages drown you overwhelmed

One day you left your house, off to work,
You wonder if you surely locked the door
You know you did--even the cat saw you,
But you're bothered, asking yourself fourteen times more.

People say, "Just stop thinking too much."
I internally scream, "How should I even do that?"
When an overthinker thinks, you won't know where it leads.
It's not much for us to decide.

I think we still have hope; I still hope we'll do better
That one day we'll be calm inside and secured.
But while we are not, to our friends, please understand
We're striving to be a better friend and not to think so hard.

Photo is taken by Giana Joy Lorenzo and owned by the author of the poem.

Thank you so much for reading! I hope to be more active and update soon as well. Have a good day!😍

Sort:  

Congratulations @zareceerine! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You distributed more than 600 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 700 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Don't think too much because sometimes it's just us who thinks too much. It happened to me as well but it doesn't mean we are the same. The best way is to be happy and accept things that it's part of our life.

Indeed, accepatance is key. Thank you for your words. :)