Steemit Poetry Contest #12 + Winners of #11!

in #poetrycontest6 years ago



DISCLAIMER - Yes, I know that the Steemit logo has changed, but I like the old one more and do not want to change it :)



logocontest.png




My Greetings To You!


I want to apologize to all of you, friends! There are so many good poems, but I do not have the opportunity to choose all... I try to vote for those that I did not choose, but I feel that this is not enough! Sorry!

Hugs




The theme for Steemit Poetry Contest #12 - Future




About Prizes:


First Place - 8 SBD

Second Place - 7 SBD

Third Place - 6 SBD

Fourth Place - 5 SBD

Fifth Place - 4 SBD

Sixth Place - 3 SBD

Seventh Place - 2 SBD

Eighth Place - 1 SBD




Entries will be accepted within five days from the date of publication of an announcement!

Deadline - January 23 9:00 AM UTC





The winners of the Steemit Poetry Contest #11



1st Place - "Lonely Steemit Moon..." by @karenmckersie



Here I sit on the moon

As lonely as can be

Feeling very homesick

Waiting for Steemians to join me



I know I wont be lonely long

The rockets blast off soon

After Hard Fork 20

Come join me on the moon



Loneliness is fleeting

It passes very fast

The SMTs are coming

Rockets Blasting off At Last !






2nd Place - "Lonely Guy" by @johnwjr7



While sitting here, thinking, I start to pine,

for the girl that I know will never be mine.

I cry at the window, leave tears on the pane,

but no one will notice because of the rain.



For as much as I love her, she has a plan,

that doesn't include me, but another man.

She’s the prettiest girl that I’ve ever known,

but soon she will be gone and I’ll be alone.



When the time comes I’ll look deep into her eyes,

tell her I’m happy for her then say my goodbyes.

But she’ll still be the girl that will never be mine.

So I'll go back to my window, sit there and pine.






3rd Place - "Dull Sky [Loneliness]" by @hypexals-spiral



A feather sheds from a wing,

and cascades to the frozen ground.

It's not whether you hear me sing,

but what aides you in my chosen sound.



Never in history has a wing flown,

covered wholely in unhealed scars.

This blistery soul can't heal on pure loneliness alone,

whilst melancholy tightly sealed you with cold bars.



Most birds without a flock face a lonely might,

lost soaring admist a vapid, dull sky.

What words left unsaid fall through cracks, out of sight,

rain pouring atop you, rapid to apply.






4th Place - "Anonymous Faces" by @wanderingdanish



In every crowd

Any places

With no doubt

Anonymous faces



The hollow glare

Bleak sky

No one cares

Live or die



Each to their own

Sealed heart

Forever alone

Forever apart






5th Place - "One Man Show" by @rachelburger



Another heckler sloshes his slipshod swill

and Jester cracks a retort to fulfill

his forever tortured comedic routine

for a hit of applause-fueled dopamine



"Funny" fuels fantasy of life examined

a talent to delight others with sapid

insights into the way "things really are"

ever the comedian philosopher



But boorish quotidian inspires Jester's quick quips

as poor mental health and bad relationships

openly hide from audiences successfully amused

the lonely life joking about humor abused






6th Place - "What Goes On Inside" by @rockchickjen



She's running up the biting wind

Painfully waiting for that special friend

Manic, she's talking to the ghosts

Because she's the one that hurts the most



The silence is deafening in her ears

Only her voices to exploit her fears

They tell her it'll be alright and hold on tight

Yet they never let her stand and fight



The loneliness eats relentlessly inside

All the while, she just wants to die

Will it ever recede and cease it's growth

Or is this darkness a lifetime oath






7th Place - "Alone, Not Lonely" by @fishyculture



One dim light glows softly in the silent room

Until I sit at my piano and being play a tune.

Another sip of coffee to clear my throat to sing

When anyone is here I cannot do this kind of thing!



I go to the city to get supplies and visit friends,

Bright lights, loud music, all my senses it offends.

A thousand people pass me, without a wave or smile-

I am so glad I am only here for just a little while!



I flee the noisy people that are too busy to care

Back to my mountain hideaway and the sweet quiet there.

I realize my solitude is something that I treasure

Alone does not mean lonely, it is my guiltless pleasure!






8th Place - "Alone Among the Pieces" by @introvertfl



How do you quantify the faces you won't see again?

A disappearing act gets difficult once it becomes a trend.

I meant every promise at the moment it was said,

but there's no one who is easier to lie to than a friend.



After all this absence, I cannot not fight the insistence

of tired eyes that constantly confuse safety and distance.

I created a false comfort by coveting the empty space.

I didn’t burn my bridges— they collapsed under their own weight.



and it eats at me on lonely nights, waking dreams that never end.

I pretend to make amends with shadows sleeping in my bed.

I'm still having trouble with the truth, and so I struggle

knowing that I dug my own grave- safe inside the rubble.






Rules of The Contest!


  • Only one entry is allowed.

  • Your entry-post must be tagged both #poetry and #poetrycontest

  • The Title must be "SteemitPoetryContest #(with the number of the actual episode)" + the name of your poem.

  • You can use any types of rhyme - End rhyme, Cross rhyme, Internal etc.

  • The size of the poem - three quatrains (one quatrain = four lines).

  • Do not steal! The contest is only original works!






I wish everyone good luck and creativity!





Let's make STEEMIT more interesting and varied together!



Sincerely, Terry Craft.



Sort:  
There are 2 pages
Pages

Hi ya'll,
@kellywin21 here I have posted my poem for this weeks contest. I hope everyone enjoys. Have a great week steemians.
https://steemit.com/poetrycontest/@kellywin21/steemitpoetrycontest-12-future-obsession
Happy Steeming

Oh Wow ! thanks so much @terrycraft for the first place win !! Im so glad you liked my fun , first time entry ! thats awesome !! Also a big Congratulations to all the other winners , they were all great entries I enjoyed reding them !! Im sure I will enter again even though im not a poet , it was a lot of fun !! THANK YOU ! Contests are great for the community !upped and resteemed 👍😀💕👌✌😍👍✌😀💕

Wowww!! Nice @karenmckersie, I love your poem 😇

Awe thanks @dranren ! it was fun , im glad you liked it !!✌🌞👍

 6 years ago  Reveal Comment

Oops !! will fix it now thanks a bunch !!👌💕✌😀

Here is my entry for the contest this week!

Title: Gamma Ray Burst

Good luck to everyone who's getting their poetry on!

Cheers!
-hypexal-

Great entries everyone! What a blast!

I'll be sure to have something up in the coming days.

Estimates:
Contest 10: 82 entrants
Contest 11: 72 entrants

Hope contest 12 has great participation too.

Way to go for the contest activity @terrycraft.

My Entry :)

The End is Near

It's been a long time,
Since I saw our future.
The world will not live to see it,
The Sun will rise; beautiful and rapture.

The lives that were precious,
more precious than diamond or gold;
they will soon disappear
from the Earth; so called our world.

We think we are not worried,
but deep down scared we feel.
Don't lose hope. The past doesn't change,
but the future can be.

The End is Near

My Entry

Our Present and Our Future

It's our 2 years anniversary,
Now we have a son.
He has his mother eyes,
like a dangerous and rapturous sun.

I just hope he doesn't turn
as dominating as his mother is.
If the worst does happen,
then it's sad for the future girl friend of his.

The Future slowly turned into present,
And no longer do we wonder.
Few years more, we husband and wife will be in chair.
Tides will turn and we will be the ones to be looked after.

Our Present and Our Future

This is a verse/poetry that I wrote a few days ago. Let me know what you think.

"Suicide Letter"

Kill me for my benefit, love. Don’t ever mention it
Irresistible mutagenesis - my depression is
The truth is evident, never get beyond it
Everyday a bomb hits, a military conflict
Special Ops convict stuck inside a prison cell
Fighting with my inner self, give em hell
Might as well…

The picture painted is vivid, but can I live it?
When it’s time for forgiveness, I pivot, I can’t revisit
Killing all who solicit, this sickness it isn’t witnessed
Like liquid it sits diminished, until you throw yourself in it

Seconds shift into minutes, minutes twist to days
Gun is aimed, bang bang... I instantly feel no pain
Can not live with the strain of what my life has remained
Is my family ashamed? How will my death be explained?

Momma's love is proclaimed, I’m lowered into my grave
So much I could say… God, just take me away

very very amazing contest poetry thanks for sharing

Congratulations everyone
You all did great 😊

here is my entry for this week's contest @terrycraft
My Future Here Is So Unclear

I love the poems so much everyone!!
Im gonna have a try this time! Here is my entry for the future themed poetry contest #12 which I wrote as 6 quatrains before reading the rules. Here is my remixed shortened version for the contest!
Thanks so much!!

https://steemit.com/poetry/@nicolcron/steemit-poetry-contest-12-love-now-by-nicolcron

Lot's of nice poems out there. Congrats to the winners, and good luck everyone. Here's my entry for the week.

Prepare for the unpredictable.

The future is unpredictable,
Unreliable at it's best.
If you're not wealthy
Any risk is close to the chest.

Some play it safe,
others take a chance,
I know the market's all a show,
Just a song and dance.

Hope for the best, prepare for the worst.
No one really knows when a bubbles about to burst.
It's better to have and not need than to need and not have,
Could being self sufficient really be that bad?

Nice lines, sounds like you are a crypto-inclined.....Anyways i wish u d very best, self-sufficiency is truly the best!

Thank you. I keep my ear to the ground. We live in very uncertain times, and I'm not just refering to the markets.

Awesome contest. Appreciations for this opportunity, I have put my piece for this in the link below..kindly look through it.

https://steemit.com/photography/@yowanetwork/cheerful-nights-of-a-busy-chap-hope-alive

Congratulations everyone 🙂

Congratulations to all the winners!

Congrats to all of the winners, thanks for sharing such a beautiful contest my dear friend. Good job,you have select the best one to win.

I thought I was gonna win the last contest though.... Maybe I did something wrong... I'd try again

Congrats to all of you :)

Woop woop 4th. place in a tough competition, totally made my day! Thanks for the initiative and the opprtunity @terrycraft :D

Congrats to everyone else :)

Congratulations to all the winners...
Each poem is enjoyable to read with it's unique flavour and style.

Some fantastic picks again! Congratulations everyone!!

I read through a few of the entries, and it is beyond me how you ever choose! You could easily release a weekly ebook of all of them! I look forward to seeing what this prompt brings - thank you

I can only imagine how hard it is to decide the winners! Thanks for keeping this contest going! Keep up!

Congratulations to the winners!!! Awesome poems!

Congrats to all the winners!

Good day, @terrycraft :)

Kindly find, below, a link to my entry for Steemit Poetry Contest #12 - Future.

I hope you enjoy "Wandering Years":
https://steemit.com/poetry/@yahialababidi/steemitpoetrycontest-12-wandering-years-original-poem

Woohoo!!! I'm honored to be on the list! Congrats to the other winners as well! There were some amazing poems in this weeks contest!

I like your poem, most especially the 2nd quatrain, it reminds me of the precious need for perseverance....cheers

Well i will try my chances again :) Who knows what future holds :)

Congrats to all.

Are the winners decided by the amount of votes? If so, it's a bit unfair to new users

@terrycraft,
Thanks for the fun! This was a really good prompt, but FUTURE! YES! Congrats to all the winners.
@Lymmerik

thanks your post!

Thank you for running this contest! I posted my poem here https://mspsteem.com/poetry/@vdux/steemitpoetrycontest-12-what-future.

Did I follow all the rules? I sure think I did...tried to at least!

Okay, so I did not win, big whoop-de-doo, Did I have fun? Yes. Did some people like my poem yes, I got 5 votes on it. So terry nothing to be sorry about, the hug is enough. Someone had to win, and I think you picked a good winner. Congratulations - - - 1st Place - "Lonely Steemit Moon..." by @karenmckersie - - - It was a good poem, and I enjoyed it also.

Congrats to all the other winners and those that did not win, we all did win in the end. We all contributed some good content for each of us to enjoy. Me I will try again, maybe toward saturday, cause I will be busy tomorrow.

Thanks alot @terrycraft for organizing this poetry contest.

The link to my entry is;
https://steemit.com/poetry/@aduragbemi/steemit-poetry-contest-12-future

congratulations to the winner.
I hope to be up there soon.
we'll keep trying.

Goodevening my fellow steemians,CONGRATS to all winners last time. Here is my entry in @terrycraft poetrycontest : HOPE YOU LIKE IT!:
2018-01-19-16-59-35.png


🔭🌄"The Future is All UP to You"💉💊

They hate everything about you
They always do lies and they pretend that this is true
They become plastic behind your back
But infront of you they cant attack.

The Future is all up to you
They cant help on the lies they do
One day they will surprised to see you rise,
And one day they will rise in all their lies.

They hate the way you smile at them
It shows them that you are a real gem
Just always be true
Because in the future ,all of this is all up to you.


https://steemit.com/poetry/@dranren/steemit-poetry-contest-12-the-future-it-s-all-up-to-you

I have posted my poem for "SteemitPoetryContest #12".Hope you guys enjoy it.

https://steemit.com/poetry/@anmolbassi/steemitpoetrycontest-12-to-face-the-future-on-my-own

Congratulations to the winners! The talent showcased was amazing. Looking forward to read the selection for the next round!

Congratulations to the winners..
I've read through most of the poems and found out how amazing they are...
I'm sad I didn't win but it triggers me to write more...

There are 2 pages
Pages