An Unwelcome Visit - Poetry Dice Contest 3000 Wk14

in #poetrydice7 years ago

An Unwelcome Visit

Irma and Maria might just be names
But since their visit life isn't the same.
The wind and rain came with insatiable power
Tearing up trees and knocking down towers.

Now I look at what was my home
I can't stay there so I'll have to roam
And find a place to put my head
I'll take the floor if there is no bed.

Some sanctuary would be music to my ears
A place with lock and key to soothe my fears
I'm in need of help to get back on track
And take this load from off my back.

I've fallen without a parachute
My world in tatters, I'm destitute
The story's the same for a million others
We're all trying to lend a hand to each other.

The scars that are left will take time to heel
But we'll work until they're all concealed
Starting at grass-roots and building up
We're a strong people who won't give up.


This is my entry to week 14 of the Poetry Dice Contest 3000 competition run by @robyneggs and @rensoul17. Thank you guys for hosting this competition!

https://steemit.com/poetrydice/@robyneggs/poetry-dice-challenge-3000-week-14-roll

I have taken inspiration from @robyneggs notes about those dealing with the aftermath of the recent hurricanes. I will donate the rewards from this post to a charity helping those affected.

Sort:  

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by g-force1980 from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

This post has received a 0.20 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @banjo.