Poetry Dice Challenge 3000 - Week 2 Roll!

in #poetrydice7 years ago (edited)

pdc3k_week2_roll_re_1224.jpg

"We cherish the way you make the images come alive off the page..."

Prizes:

prizes_lineup_graphiccollage_re.jpg

First place - 5 STEEM

2nd place - 3 STEEM

3rd place - 1 STEEM

-

*The prizes may not seem like much, but I want everyone to have an opportunity to be inspired by the fates of the poetry dice (aka Rory's Story Cubes).


Rules

  1. All 9 images must be referenced at least once, each. Images are interpreted loosely. How you interpret (or assign the image meaning) is up to you and does not count against you.
  2. Make your first tag #poetrydice, so I can find your entry.
  3. Put a link to your post in the comments section (below). Feel free to message me your link in steemit.chat (optional).
  4. Please submit no more than 3 entries. If you wish to write more than 3 poems per roll, that is fine. I just ask that you clearly label which 3 are your official entries.

Deadline to enter contest is next Saturday at Midnight PST (UTC-7)
Winner will be announced weekly


My stab at a poem from this week's roll...(for fun)

A fish?
A hat?
A baseball bat?
WTF is this contest for?
Scary voo-doo
Makes me frown
Like the sad, lonely moon do
Makes me drown
In this sea of hallway
Where I can see home
Aliens roam my way
But I'll burn them all down
If they try to come over
So I smile
And cry 'til it's over
I do so hope someone wins -
So the fish can take a bow...

by @robyneggs


Want to co-judge or guest judge?

Please message me in steemit.chat/direct/robyn.eggs (if you wish to be anonymous). Otherwise, leave a comment or reply letting me know that you would like to judge.

In this second week, we have one volunteer co-judge - @mamdini, winner of the first week's contest! Thanks for coming on board this week to help illuminate next week's shining poets! May the best entries win!

  • If you are a judge, you are not allowed to win the contest.
  • You may still enter for fun, but your entries will not be considered part of the competition.

Things to consider when competing for the best poem entry:

  • grammar / Does it make sense?
  • flow / Does the reader experience any hiccups, jerks or missing beats?
  • rhythm
  • rhyme
  • imagery / Can the reader imagine what the author is writing?
  • feeling / Does it cause a reaction?
  • and emotional pull / Does the reader take sides?

cool_summer_sun_field_youcandoit_re.jpg

Please don't over-analyze your own poems.

We all do it too much. Never judge your own poem too harshly. If you love it, then someone else loves it too, just the way it is. If it speaks to you - it's good. And not all poetry is meant to rhyme, either. If it sounds good and makes sense - if it changes the reader at all - it's good.

We want to know what the dice say to you.

We cherish the way you make the images come alive off the page. And each author has a unique and inspiring way of writing their entry, which is what makes this challenge so valuable and fun to participate in. You are really only challenging yourself! :-) Prost! Cheers! Salud!


Last Week's Winner's HERE

Poetry Dice Challenge 3000, Week 1 HERE.

For sample poems, please see last week's Top Picks.


Don't forget to use the "onehumanbasket" tag to ensure my 100% upvote and resteem.

  • Use "onehumanbasket" on photography, art and other types of posts besides poetry. Posts using both "poetry" and "onehumanbasket," however, will remain higher priority since I wish to curate the poetry community specifically.
  • Official entries to the Poetry Dice Challenge 3000 will have the highest priority vote.
  • ONLY use the "poetrydice" tag for official entries to the contest.
  • I also curate posts with just "poetry.” Any left-over voting power gets used for highly selective posts that I hope contribute to the "onehumanbasket" feel.

onehumanbasket_saying_wellies_420_re.jpg



Follow me on social media:

Facebook / Twitter / Instagram / Flickr

View my credentials:

Artist Services Webpage



Each up-vote goes to support a - single-mom/autistic child - @robyneggs Help support a well-minded artist support their child today.

Thank you for visiting @robyneggs blog

~one human basket~

robyneggs_profileeggs_150.jpg robyneggs150_hs_profile.jpg

Sort:  

Glad to have run across this competition,
I am here to humbly submit my rendition.
Inspiration is always wanted and so nice,
I guess it can come from a roll of the dice!
So here it is without any further ado,
I submit a short poem just for you!
Note I am not competing for a prize,
I just entered for the mental stimuli.
https://steemit.com/poetrydice/@clayboyn/self-awareness-original-poetry-robyneggs-poetry-dice-challenge-3000-week-2

Argh! Almost didn't make the deadline! Lots of stuff in real life x.x I will make up for it with 3 entries. (Edited this comment twice to add the second and third entries :) )

First Entry
Second Entry
Third Entry

@robyneggs it's really cool!!

Thanks! Hoping you join! :D
@mamadini - you can co-judge this week with me or not - up to you! :-)

I sent you a message in the chat and am totally into it. :)

Excellent! I am so glad! :-)

Another great roll of the dice, and a wonderful explanation and layout guideline for all future poetry dice challenge participants, nice job my friend.

Thank you, my friend! Your participation means the world to me! You are such a talented poet and wonderful wordsmith! Thanks for your kind comment @verbal-d! :-) Cheers! I hope to see more of your PDC3K entries soon! :-)

You are most welcome my friend, I do enjoy participating when I can and you work hard for these contests so I enter to provide fun and good artwork giving the best of me with each piece. You definitely will see more entries no worries you are very kind

No problem to join here.
I may join.
Thank you

Please join! :-)

Wow cool I like but I'm not an expert,
I think my friend's @curiesea can follow a very interesting race ..

Here's my entry:
https://steemit.com/poetrydice/@pyrowngs/shadow-school-of-fishes-my-entry-in-poetry-dice-challenge-3000-week-2
That was fun! Thanks for hosting these. Looking forward to reading them all!

Out of curiosity- is the title "Poetry Dice Challenge 3000" a spinoff from "Mystery Science Theater 3000"?

HAHA NO! It's 3000 because this is the third time I have attempted to run the challenge XO ❤️

I am looking forward to this. So many talented voices here on Steemit, I just know this will be great.

What a fun idea! I'm hopefully going to enter!

Hopefully! 😃

Thank you for inviting me to the challenge :) Here is my Entry:
https://steemit.com/poetrydice/@yoganarchista/horror-trip-original-poem

Thank for your entry this week @yoganarchista 🎩

I love this one! Thanks for participating in PDC3K!! :-) Cheers!

Awesome to see the new dices rolled in. I could not find the winners from last week. Can you link the post here maybe?

First time joining... :)
I had fun creating a poem out of those images... ^^
Here's my entry :)

https://steemit.com/poetrydice/@tegoshei/scared-of-being-alone-poetry-dice-challenge

Thank you for entering PDC3K! Cheers! :-)

This is a great initiative! I'll be entering often as I write lots of poetry and enjoy doing it. Thanks a lot for visiting my blog today!

hey you bet! :-)

Again a little late, but glad that I'm still able to join, since my internet keeps wandering off..
https://steemit.com/poetrydice/@droucil/nocturnal-life-is-looking-at-me-original-poem

I hope I am not to late to join. If I am to late, enjoy my silliness anyway.

https://steemit.com/poetry/@thelastsage/one-crazy-night

Peace,
The Last Sage

Damn! I missed this one!! :(