Politics Hates Innovation

in #politics8 years ago

The website History Today has just re-published an article from 1994 entitled; 'A Snarling Roughhouse'- The Democratic Convention of 1924 - See more at, http://www.historytoday.com/edward-ranson/snarling-roughhouse-democratic-convention-1924#sthash.UNfaRtS5.dpuf. This is a fascinating read about a historical era of politics in this country that may be most like the present - coming as it does just after the Republican and the start of the Democrat conventions, and, only eight years from the centennial of the 1924 election.

What struck me, perhaps more than any other insights, was the line, "It has been well said that for the Republicans politics is a business, which they usually conduct with considerable efficiency, but for the Democrats politics is an emotional experience. In part, this is because the Democratic Party is an unlikely coalition of factions that periodically struggle for control, especially in presidential election years and at national conventions." This thought is of interest to me mostly because, after witnessing the news coverage of the Republican convention, I do not think it is a true statement. I think the two parties are almost equal in factional infighting, and playing to emotional issues. While that may make for some interesting headlines and news, it most certainly does not speak to either parties' ability to govern in any sensible way.

Focusing more narrowly; Neither party seems to be able or willing to shrug off the past and create an atmosphere of innovation. The marketers and thinktankers seem to be focused on creating tribal cultures. With a, 'my tribe can make you feel better' form of governing that will work by changing this regulation or rule. Or, rewriting the rule book altogether. None of which recognizes the realities of the world as it is today, or, the potentially amazing future just over the horizon. The world that steemit and crypto environments can bring into being. The old-world way of thinking is about systems and centralization - where innovation is often a dirty word.

I read John Naisbitt's book "Mindset!" published in 2006, and, this (almost quote) has remained with me; If you are focusing on solving problems, you are working in the past. The future demands innovation. (That is not a direct quote because I couldn't find the dang book while writing this.) The idea had a big impact on my thinking from that point forward. I had always considered my biggest talent to be the 'problem-solving guy' in our organization. The realization may not sound profound, but by incorporating the innovation mindset into my approach to systemic issues, I was far more effective at creating long-term solutions to difficulties that had plagued us for years. And, we were able to get more involvement from junior and mid-level employees. So, success. Incremental, and sometimes painful, but, success.

How would one take that particular individual insight and its influence on my success and change the political discourse? Impossible? Yeah, probably. But, as a now retired guy, I can talk and write about it in the hope that other voices may join into a conversation that has more impact.

Take the time to read the article from History Today. Its a good read and you will get some additional insights that I did not touch on here.

Cheers.

Crabbysob

Sort:  

I upvoted You