The Power of Positivity: Think Well, Feel Well, Do Well

in #popcontest6 years ago (edited)

9C1555C2-9ACB-4963-BDB4-31AA1453F1F6.jpeg

The power of positivity is one of the greatest concepts you can apply in your life. In my previous blog, “The Power of Gratitude,” I mentioned about the law of attraction. This also applies in the power of positivity. If one will focus on positivity, one will attract more positivity in life.

I have learned also from a workshop about the words of Pope Francis on positivity in one of his inspirational speeches when he went to the Philippines a few years ago. He summarized into three how one can live his life in positivity—think well, feel well, do well.

THINK WELL

We must start with the work within and fight internal battles because the first battle starts in the head.

Life is not perfect. Good and bad stuff happen every single day. It is hard to feel positivity when things are not going right but there can be ways to fight this battle in our head. Sometimes, it is a matter of perspective and interpretation of what happened. One way is to assign positive meaning in dark and difficult times.

To do this, one can use the power of reflection. Reflecting is a method is positive psychology. Reflection is putting yourself together and taking a look at yourself and the situations your are experiencing. Cliché as it is, I believe that everything happens for a reason. Everything in life has a purpose. Even the dark and down moments in our lives have a purpose. When we are going through those things, it may seem like nothing good is going to come from those negative situations; but when we look back and reflect, it is only then that we will be able to understand and appreciate why we had to undergo through those difficulties.

Most people say that experience is the best teacher; but wise men say that the best teacher is reflected experience. We learn from our experience only when we reflect about it and apply in life the learnings we got from the reflected experience.

FEEL WELL

What we feel is a result of our thoughts. If we think positive, we feel positive. It is not easy to feel positive when we think of something negative.

According to the Institute of Integrality Workshop I attended,
“Positive emotions put you in the right disposition, broadening your mind. It builds inner strength and resilience. Negative emotions can limit and weaken you.”

The Secret Law of Attraction says that what we feel is important. We attract what we feel. The more positive you feel, the more likely that you will be in a positive frequency; and the more likely that you will attract and see positivity.

DO WELL

“The highest reward for a man’s toil is not what he gets for it but what he becomes by it.” -John Ruskin

Most people look at the end result or current condition of a person or situation. However, wise people say that we should not focus on that. We must learn to appreciate and find meaning both in the journey and destination or outcome.

For example, a person is successful. Many people say that this person is lucky. However, they look at “what is”. They don’t know what this person went through— the challenges that he overcame, the struggles, trials, discouragement, hopelessness, etc. They don’t see that it is his journey that led him to his destination, which is success.

How can one give more meaning to his journey? It is by sharing his story to people and to the world. People can learn from other people’s experience. One’s life is his message. His message can change a person’s life.

A real life example of this is Ms. Janice Hung. Ms. @janicehung is an International Wushu Champion, commercial model and actress based in the Philippines. She is my role model and inspiration. She added value in my life and made a change in my life; and one big reason is because I got inspired by her journey. She is a living testimony of the saying, NEVER GIVE UP. People only look at her success; but I look at both her journey and the person that she is today.

5EDE067E-8011-4A7E-BE7C-86DB8245E84D.jpeg
Ms. @janicehung in a gift-giving project with the Aetas of Tarlac [photo from Ms. Janice Hung]

Today, she inspires a lot of people in Steemit, in the Philippines and around the world. To give back to the community, she did several charity projects such as Muzikademy and Wushu Kids. She recently launched the Udefend Project wherein she teaches self defense, particularly to women and children. To pay forward, she teaches Udefend to public school students for free since they are the ones who cannot afford to enroll in such a class.

4982B8E3-EE76-4980-BBEF-651210503343.jpeg
Udefend Project

How I Apply the Power of Positivity in my Life

When I started applying the power positivity in my life, I realized that it is not a one-time event. The power of positivity is an everyday decision and a choice to make in every circumstance—good or bad. So what I currently do to remind myself are the following:

  1. When I wake up, I say a prayer and give thanks. I remember what to be grateful for the previous day. Then, I look at my vision boards, pray for them and I imagine achieving them. I also read words of affirmation and declaration.

  2. Everyday I workout. When I workout, instead of listening to songs, most of the time, I listen to the audio or video version of The Secret and The Power by Rhonda Byrne, which mainly focus on the power of positivity, love and gratitude.

  3. I listen also to the talks of some preachers like Bo Sanchez, Steven Furtick and Joel Osteen.

  4. I always give thanks and see the best in every circumstance and even for the tiniest blessings.

  5. When I experience negative emotions, I do my best to brush them off and have my focus on other the good things.

  6. Before I sleep, I say a prayer and think of the blessings and things to be grateful for during my day.

0DB46A39-BA38-4C18-9132-51BC21E03FCB.jpeg
The gratitude rock I use

By continuing to do these, I believe that I will be able to live a life of positivity and that I can think well, do well and feel well.

I encourage people reading this blog to also create daily habits the will harness positivity in their life and to constantly remind themselves every single day to make a decision to choose positivity.

Links:
Steemit:
@clairefabella
@janicehung
@steemitmanila
https://discord.gg/XhEBP4p

Inspiring story of Ms. Janice Hung
https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@janicehung/hello-steemit-i-m-janice-hung

F2A2C9D8-86A9-4E28-AD02-C17AB887B9F7.gif

Sort:  

Very inspiring story invites us to think about what really matters in life, as well as to support to the needy. congratulations!

This comment has received a 0.60 % upvote from @speedvoter thanks to: @borcast.

Remaining positive in every situation that happens around us is truly a challenge but we should always choose to remain positive no matter what. We have the power to transform our thoughts and feelings that can make a lasting impact in our lives and in others as well.

I agree with you. Thank you for always reminding me to choose positivity 😀

You're welcome!😀

Awesome story and positive post entry @clairefabella ! With great tips ! upped and resteemed good luck !😀

Thank you so much @karenmckersie for spreading positivity. 😀

Hey @clairefabella :) Congratulations on your win and this is an awesome post. I listen to Steven Furtick and Joel Osteen too who are highly motivational and positive in their preachings. Love the post :)

Thank you for the appreciation! Steven Furtick is a great preacher 😀

I think so too. Many of his revelations are life-changing :)

I agree 😀

Nice article! I really believe in the power of reflection and reading this article I learned that there is what you called " Reflective experience". I'm interesting to know more about that.

Thank you for your appreciation. Reflected experience is basically looming into that certain experience in a deeper sense, learning from what happened and applying the learning from that experience