You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Power Down Time

in #powerdown3 years ago

If you allow for INSTANT POWERDOWN even with a tax then you effectively negate the protection that Hive gives to people that have their keys stolen. (A hacker doesn't care if they get 10% less of what they steel if it means getting it all right then)

If you allowed this Then you could easily make the appeal that all powerdowns could or should be instant if you wanted and have a tax or not if people wanted it. OR you could even do a scaling powerdown if you wanted from 0-20%

But i do remind that PART of the reason for a delay is this unique protection feature that Hive has that other blockchains do not.

Sort:  

Yes, in the hackmd, we have that listed as a CON for this setup. However, we can possibly consider a separate key just for instant power down. That way, you only use that key very rarely and should remain offline. Another way is to attach the account recovery feature as a 2fa, IE your buddy account has to approve the instant power down before you do it. Things like this to better protect the user. Also, 2fa like you get with exchanges, but not sure how to add that with this feature.

More keys will make it more complicated and it is already quite complicated.

I am not in favor of instant PD.

I am in favor of PD taxes. I prefer that we use that fund the mitigate inflation the way @smooth is handling now, I think that is working.

I am in favor of 4 week PD.

What Smooth is doing can be done at the same time as this, it is a brilliant idea that's made Hive temporarily deflationary. This idea, the "tax" or "fee" or reclaim bucks whatever you want to label it, would be rewarding long term holders at the expense of short term hodlers.

I am supportive of that. Let's make it happen!

Actually because you would pay for the privilege that would unlock a special developer feature that requires more than just your usual process so you have backups....

Could come in handy and cover that situation.

Having to sign a instant powerdown with 2 accounts can work. Multi sig is a reality on Hive and i have used it a couple months ago during the HBDpotato discussion. Both me and another account signed a transaction to send the 200k to @null.
That could work.

do you think average user should be able to do?

Also have escrow service on hive. As far i know nobody use it and even more people doesn't know how to use ( include me)

Because you didnt really have a use case until now. The user interface for it isnt developed yet.

I hope it will not end up in complex bullshit. As long it all is super easy, everything is fine.

I really think it should be fairly easy. Fbslo made the current user interface and its really not too hard to make it user friendly. I figured it out and im not someone with much technical knowledge.

Ya I think if we expand on the idea we can have a pretty neat 2fa feature using the multi account system. What you're saying is something that would work

While the multisig idea sounds interesting, imagine duplicating the 1.5 million accounts we have right now, just for a hypothetical instant powerdown. Sounds crazy to me.

Since it would be an optional feature to use. Lets call it advanced. If you would actually go the route of duplicating accounts, which i dont see necessary, this option would probably be utilized by maybe a couple thousand accounts in a year.

Feature addition could be on request.

The more I think about it, I don't see why a hardware wallet wouldn't be a big problem solver here. It's one of the best forms of 2fa we available. If we got on Ledger/Trezor someone could secure their account very cheap and most in crypto already have these wallets.

I'm strongly against the recovery account being used as a 2FA!
My "buddy" is there to help me when I need him, not to control how I manage my funds and add delays to my "instant" powerdown because he is AFK.

You can create new alternative account that will act as a buddy?

Do you really want all users to have 2 accounts on Hive?
The use case of the recovery account is... recovery! Do not use such a poor workaround to implement new features.