Ulog 162: Pending Surgery Has Me Thinking/Planning Ahead

in #powerhousecreatives5 years ago (edited)

Yesterday I had an appointment to have a second EMG test to compare the numbers from six months ago when I had my first EMG to check for nerve damage concerns on my left hand and fingers. The news was good and bad. Luckily no further damage has been done to my thmb and index finger, but the feeling in my pinky and ring fingers has started to deteriorate.

And on top of the response to the electrodes on those two fingers, I have also developed carpal tunnel in my left wrist due to the loss of activity, bad circulation from the nerve damage and now I am being sent to see an orthopedic surgeon. So this wrist brace is my new best friend; not very well liked or appreciated, but it will be with me until I see the surgeon. Date to be determined as I am waiting for approval from my health insurance for the referral.

wrist.jpg

According to John Hopkins Medical website; an EMG test is as follows:

Electromyography (EMG) measures muscle response or electrical activity in response to a nerve’s stimulation of the muscle. The test is used to help detect neuromuscular abnormalities. During the test, one or more small needles (also called electrodes) are inserted through the skin into the muscle. The electrical activity picked up by the electrodes is then displayed on an oscilloscope (a monitor that displays electrical activity in the form of waves). An audio-amplifier is used so the activity can be heard.EMG measures the electrical activity of muscle during rest, slight contraction and forceful contraction. Muscle tissue does not normally produce electrical signals during rest. When an electrode is inserted, a brief period of activity can be seen on the oscilloscope, but after that, no signal should be present

Power House Creatives Logos FINAL.png

Surgery Needed?

Ulnar Nerve Transposition

Luckily this is an outpatient procedure.

The main purpose of the surgery is to reposition the ulnar nerve, relieving it from compression or damage

Power House Creatives Logos FINAL.png

How Will This Effect Me?

a full recovery following ulnar nerve transposition will take 3 to 6 months

This takes me well into late winter, if not early spring time.

What Will Be Effected For Me?..

  • Writing is my life- tapping on the keyboards is what I do
  • Cooking & baking- I'm a homemaker
  • Chores- again, I'm a homemaker
  • Lifting- Oh man... this one will get me I will be without the use of my hand and arm for quite some time while I recover

Even thought this is my left hand and fingers (elbow) being affected by the surgery, and I am right-hand dominant, I never realized just how much I rely on my left hand for work, chores and every day activities.

So for the next week or so, until I find out when I go see the orthopedic surgeon, I will be making lists of things I need to get done to stay ahead of the game; so to speak.

I'll be planning out easy meals, getting the more difficult tasks done around here (thank goodness canning season has ended) and I'll be prepping the house (and the husband) for what I can or cannot do during the recovery time.

As for writing and blogging (and being @qurator's newsletter writer)? I will continue on; just at a much slower pace. Where the newsletter takes me under 30 minutes to do every day; I will have to allow myself more time. Blogging on my page will be the same. I will have to halt some other freelancing/writing gigs, but I will persevere.

I still can't believe this all stems from my auto collision. I mean... _really?
But according to my rehabilitation doctor... yup, sure is.

So onward and upward... I'll get through this and hopefully have the feeling return to my hand and fingers so I can put this past me.

Power House Creatives Logos FINAL.png

luvbug.png

TIBLogo


This post was made from https://ulogs.org

.

Sort:  

Put a wet pad of comfrey tincture on it overnight. Saved me from shoulder surgery.

Good luck!

I have plenty of comfrey here! And even some tincture.
Not sure it will help move my nerve to where it belongs, but right now I am up for anything!

The comfrey is a healing accelerator (Voiliciferant) that uses the Allantoin in the comfrey to draw naturally occurring Haluronic acid to the treated location. This is the mortar the Body uses to bond cells to cause healing!

Tumeric with 5% black pepper, will limit the inflammation of the nerve; and Stinging Nettle will aid nerve healing.

:)>

Thank you so much for participating in the Partiko Delegation Plan Round 1! We really appreciate your support! As part of the delegation benefits, we just gave you a 3.00% upvote! Together, let’s change the world!

Oh my, that is a really big life blow, @goldendawne. I do hope you get all the care you need and heal quickly. Do you do any voice typing? I have found it to be a great way to relieve my over-burdened hands. I use my phone and talk my content into Google docs sometimes. Then I can open that file on my computer and edit it, and I've saved a lot of time and typing effort.

Hmmm, never knew about that @jayna! I will have to look into it.
Do you just use google documents, or is there a special program?

OMW! I am sorry to hear this @goldendawne. I am hoping against hope that you can avoid surgery and such a long period of incapacitation. I feel for you. I'd go stark raving bonkers!

Thinking of you.

Aw man, that stinks! I'm sorry to hear you have to go through all that. Hopefully the family will step up a little more to help around the house!

As for blogging, have you thought of using dictation software? One of my son's uses Dragon Naturally Speaking for his school essays to great effect.

My husband had ulnar nerve surgery before he was dx'd with end stage liver disease in 1998. It did not help and the muscles in his hand withered. It was his dominant hand too!

I sure hope yours goes much better!

Hi @goldendawne!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.902 which ranks you at #1286 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has not changed in the last three days.

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 85 contributions, your post is ranked at #25.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers like your work!
  • Try to work on user engagement: the more people that interact with you via the comments, the higher your UA score!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Indeed, "thank goodness canning season has ended" - I cannot imagine! - but typing the blog will take longer. As if you don't donate enough time already as a @qurator. May your recovery be speedy!!