Brewing a new BEER, with lock down mix!!

in #powerhousecreatives4 years ago

Brewing a new BEER, with lock down mix!!

20200620-103413.jpg

This weekend, it was time for me to do another home brew Beer. A few of my friends wanted to learn how to do a home brew, as they did not want to run out of Beer again, as it happened during lock-down.

I had a few issues to get ingredients for my brew!! The first on line shop I ordered from said it will take two weeks for the order to be delivered, but I never received my order. It is now more than a month and I am still waiting.

The company I now used, was completely closed during level 4 & 5 of the lock-down, but did open for online orders during level 3, in which we are now.

It took them only 2 days to make up my order, and I had the choice to pick it up myself, or to have it delivered at additional cost, I went to pick it up myself and everything worked out well.

The only problem I had, was that my choice of ingredients were limited, as there were huge stock-outs, caused by the lock-down. I then just improvised and will have to wait and see how this BEER turns out!!

20200620-103420.jpg

Above you can see all the ingredient and the prices in South African Rand. (1$ = R17.31) This will give me 25 liter of Beer.

I decided to do a dark beer, thus I am adding some Black Malt and Roasted Barley!!

For my bittering hops, I used Bravo hops and for my flavoring, I used Cascade hops.

For the yeast I used London ESB Yeast. I have never used this yeast before, but there was only a choice between two different yeasts, and I decided that this one will work better for my purpose.

20200620-103427.jpg

Below you can see the grains in my urn, and as you can see, it has a nice dark color. I left it in the urn for 90 minutes at 67 degrees Celsius, I then increased the temperature to boiling point, added my bittering hobs and after 45 minutes, I added the flavoring hops for the last 15 minutes of the boil.

20200620-120242.jpg

Below are my friends that came to learn how to brew, there was one more, but he left early.

20200620-120250.jpg

After the mash was cooled down, I put it in the fermenter, added the yeast and by the evening, my bubbler was bubbling away, indicating that the Beer was fermenting nicely. This will continue for about a week, then I will be able to bottle the brew.

alt text

I hope you liked the post as much as I liked writing it.

Stay Safe!!

Sort:  

Waiting for your new look beer.

Hopefully the wait will soon be over.

!BEER


Hey @sheikh27, here is a little bit of BEER from @rynow for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

Good to see you active here .... damn, that lockdown was my driest period for many decades... my brain did not know what to do with so much pure blood.

The boys look happy with your home brew {grin}


Hey @themagus, here is a little bit of BEER from @rynow for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

Hahahaha that's funny! 🤣

my brain did not know what to do with so much pure blood.

🤣

Here is a !BEER for you before you have the same problems that @themagus experience!!

Lol I wonder what problem was that


Hey @joetunex, here is a little bit of BEER from @rynow for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

Thanks for the beer

They were very impressed. Hope the !BEER will not disappoint!!

Hope the SA government does not read blogs on hive 🙂 or are we allowed to visit with friends? Good luck with the 🍺

You are right it is against the rules, but sometimes one just have to bend them a little!!
!BEER

💯 agree.

good afternoon dear friend @rynow
It is a pity that your supplies have not arrived, but good that you have been able to solve it
It is something common today in online deliveries, I am waiting for a package more than a month ago, now they passed me for July 21, it is worth saying that the wait will be two and a half months, shameful, but what can be done?
I wish you a beautiful night

Yes, 2 and a half months is a real long wait!!
!BEER

If it's a long time dear friend @rynow, I hope yours won't take so long
Have a great day

that looks like a good job. love to have a taste....

I hope the !BEER turns out great, will have to wait and see!!


Hey @detlev, here is a little bit of BEER from @rynow for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

It’s been crazy to find good ingredients everywhere. The lockdown has caused shortages in the US too. I’ll be a interested to see what you think of that yeast.

Yes, I would also like to see the result, at least it was fermenting nicely. Hope the !BEER will be good!!
Cheers!!


Hey @cryptictruth, here is a little bit of BEER from @rynow for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.