A Single Seed: Thank Your Unhappy Customers

image.png

If you've ever dabbled in running a business, you've almost certainly experienced the highs and lows of dealing with customers. Just like us, they're people, with emotions, feelings, and pet peeves, and the longer you've been in business, the more likely it is that you'll experience the full spectrum from the other side. The most extreme cases of unhappiness can manifest themselves in the form of nasty-worded messages, negative feedback, or even threats. I personally have dealt with at least one buyer in my lifetime who I had to contact the selling platform about due to the amount of harassment I was being subjected to (non-stop ALL CAPS messages for hours on end). But in the end, I'm still grateful for that individual. Because when you operate a business, your most unhappy customers are your greatest source of learning.

I'll be the first to say I love positive feedback when selling. It lets me know I've done my job right, and that I've helped someone get their hands on an item that they may not have been able to find anywhere else. But the neutral/negative feedbacks are where I really learn where I need to improve (unless they're just a complete asshat). Just yesterday, I had a customer message me saying I missed pointing out a certain flaw on an item I sold them recently. This is a blessing in disguise as far as I'm concerned. Feedback like this lets you know where you've missed being as thorough as you could be, and by being able to recognize your blind spots, that will translate into happier customers, which leads to better feedback and hopefully more sales. It's about as positive a cycle as you could have, and one that provides real-time critiques when something slips by.

Maybe it's your packaging, the interface, or simply a matter of communication. We've all got things we can improve on. But thanks to the angry customers, we can pinpoint exactly what it is that needs work. Unless they're just an asshat.

"A Single Seed" is my attempt to get out one idea every day that I've learned or accumulated over the years, with the hope that it may stick in someone else's memory bank as well. The idea may be related to fitness, business, life, or philosophy, but I think you'll find that many can change domains if you wish them to. With each seed planted, a new life awaits.

Image credit: https://www.piqsels.com/en/public-domain-photo-jikot

Sort:  

Congratulations @troubledsoles! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 1000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 2000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Downvote challenge - Add up to 3 funny badges to your board
Use your witness votes and get the Community Badge
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!