A preview of the coming apocalypse.

in #prepping11 months ago

I'm not entering the weekend- engagement, but I wanted to include this so people could get a small idea of what happens, when things stop working!

Tulsa had some really bad weather last night! Straight winds in the 100 mph range, combined with microbursts (small tornadoes); did massive damage! I saw a two foot diameter oak tree that had all it's branches twisted off by one of the microbursts. It looked like a well trimmed stalk of broccoli!

Power problems all over town from storms here. I spent 3 hours driving today to find gasoline for my chain saw. Now I'm almost home, we cut down and disposed of 3 trees at my rental house.

My Son in my chaps and hardhat and face shield, dropping the last of the three honey locust trees:
IMG_20230618_162434944.jpg
We cut down, cut up and disposed of these trees in about an hour and a half, after wasting 3 hours to get the gasoline. This picture was taken just as the tree was falling, that's why the smoke surrounds him.

Sunday About 300,000 people are out of power here, and most traffic lights were out. Today, about 170,000 are still in the dark; and they're estimating a full week more for the repairs! I was supposed to stop by the local hospital for a quick outpatient test, and they had no power (running on generators only) so they sent me home.

I still have one large tree hung up on the surrounding trees, but I will need more equipment to be safe:
IMG_20230618_165206222.jpg
This kind of tree they call the widow Maker, so I need to be especially careful on this one! It about 16 inches in diameter, so it must be chained off carefully, so it doesn't fall on me when I begin cutting it out.

Now for the view into hell...I saw two 'gentlemen'; fist fighting over the last bag of ice at a Quick Trip. I watched two car try to back into the same pump bay for gas. They knew the other car was there, but figured they'd get cold feet; they didn't, and the damage to these two modern toy cars was impressive! That entire parking lot was in full gridlock....

The police and wreakers were unable to reach either of them! Here's one prepping thought, it's not worth it...drive on!!!! This was about 12 hours into this emergency, and it was just enough time for the generators to begin running out of fuel. Today, the stations that have electricity, have zero fuel; and people are starting to siphon tanks for fuel. In a couple of days, they won't be so careful that the tank being siphoned belongs to them.

People will begin to steal, and around here they can end up shot. Maybe by Thursday this escalation will begin; and this is just simple storm damage, and not a crashed economy!

Tomorrow I will go to the homestead, and pick up a generator for my Son; along with 20 gallons of stabilized gasoline, from my fuel shed. This way, when people get crazy, we won't need to be there!

Prepping can pull you through short term emergencies like this, with possible life savings results. So even if you don't think the whole thing will crash, prepping is important for times like this!

I'm seeing people getting frantic after only 2 days, and best guess is another week! What if it was two Months, or even a year? Can you get through okay, or will you need to be a desperate target; trying to buy scraps?

There is a station in South Tulsa that is asking $9.99 a gallon (which is illegal here) for regular unleaded. In three days, that place will become a focus for the desperate...Not a place you want to be!

BTW, since it's legal here, you should be carrying a concealed weapon! You need to ensure you get home to your family, no matter what.

The only positive is that there is enough wood down to last for several winters....

So stay away from the crazy people, and keep on prepping!

Sort:  

I feel your pain! Two months since you posted this (I'm always late to the party) - you may be two YEARS dealing with the aftermath.
This reminds me of the August 2020 derecho:

This kind of tree they call the widow Maker, so I need to be especially careful on this one ... it must be chained off carefully, so it doesn't fall on me when I begin cutting it out.
Now for the view into hell...I saw two 'gentlemen'; fist fighting over the last bag of ice at a Quick Trip.

Our landscape, three years later, is still full of busted trees that remain standing. Topless pines somehow live on, and homeowner leave them standing, perhaps hoping they'll grow a new top?
So many mature trees with broken "arms" (limbs) ... so many brushpiles ... and empty spaces, and new trees with the plastic bags for watering or the white tubes to keep deer from feasting on them.
All the new rooftops in metal - mile after mile of shiny new metal roofs -
Quicker and cheaper than the asphalt.
I'm sorry you experienced an apocalypse and hope you won't be cleaning up for years afterward.
Could be worse. Could have been wildfires like Hawaii's .... death toll this morning reached 80...

It was enlightening to see how fast it things moved to chaos. It has made me work harder to get out to the homestead ASAP! When it shells for good, I want that 50 miles of distance.

I'm glad it wasn't wildfires too! I plan to use a 55 gallon drum of water, with a 12 volt sump pump on a Gator for local firefighting. There is a volunteer fire department very close to the homestead too! The lake is only as mile away for refills....

Congratulations @smithlabs! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You got more than 16500 replies.
Your next target is to reach 17000 replies.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out our last posts:

Hive Power Up Day - July 1st 2023
Announcing the Travel Reimbursement Fund for HiveFest⁸

Time flies when you're blogging!

👍😁🎉👌🐾🐶🐾🤠

Yes it does @smithlabs 😊

Two months ago today, the weather was similar here in Pakistan too, there was a lot of wind due to which there was a lot of damage, now the weather has improved but the heat has come too

Here too, it will be 100+ F° within the week. There are still about 100,000 people here with no power.

I spent the day working on stuff at the homestead. We got a lot done, including delivering a truck load of equipment needed out there.

👍🤔🎯💙🤠😁👌💗

Glad to see you are doing your job very well.

Thanks, glad you liked my post! I'm beginning to run out of storage space, and could use another shipping container on the land. This would allow me to move the non-food items needed for safety out there. Still a lot left to do, but progress is steady!

👍💙🤠🎯💗😁👌🤔😳🤕

Most welcome dear.

Keep preparing, inflation's coming soon!

Be blessed.

👍😁🤔🤠💗😊

We cannot do anything here.

Where do you belong from? I mean which country? we are also facing these fast winds from past two month.s

Tulsa Oklahoma is in the central United States, north of Texas and south of Kansas.

Where are you?

We get bad weather here because Kansas blows, and Texas sucks, ROFLOL! Actually weather fronts collide here from across the continental United States. They call this tornado alley, when that happens!

👎😭🤕😳