Love trumps hate .... a blessed feeling

in #pride7 years ago (edited)

image

I came home after like 2 or 3 days of madness, and see this on the kitchen table ... my sister went to pride even tho she's straight & even tho we didn't go together cause our sleeping schedules aren't exactly aligned .... how lucky am I to have a sister to take pride in something most families even today are often ashamed about....

also I would like to point out I never wore anything rainbow or owned a pride flag in my life... I never wanted to be defined solely by something like this, but this year it's a bit different.

Made me so happy .... I love my little sister so much & am so thankful for her huge ability to accept and love all ... Love u heath

Also I'm thankful for my entire family who accepts me I don't think I acknowledge this enough, maybe because in an ideal world it would be a non-issue, but clearly this world is far from ideal, and to resist oppression you gotta spread a message....

Note: I originally posted this on facebook/instagram for my little sister, also wanted to share it here as I integrate and more heavily adopt steemit as a social media platform