💁 Your help is appreciated 🙏: I am not able to send private (encrypted) messages / Bitte um Hilfe: Ich kann keine private messages verschicken

private_message.png

deutsch_runterscrollen.png

Dear fellow Steemians ,

Currently, it seems as if I am not able to send out private (encrypted) messages through Steemit. This was different some time ago, when I was able to do it. However, whenever I write "# " at the beginning of the Memo now, I get the error message: "Error: Unable to encrypt memo, missing memo private key" (see screenshot below). I was using my Active Key. I don't know where I can find the memo private key. I have done some searches, but have mostly found outdated information. Maybe someone of you can help me, your support would be greatly appreciated.
Thanks!!
CU,
Chris


Liebe Steemianer,
Leider scheint es im Moment so zu sein, dass ich keine privaten verschlüsselten Nachrichten verschicken kann. Das war nicht immer so, früher konnte ich solche Nachrichten bereits verschicken. Doch wenn ich es jetzt probiere, indem ich eine Raute und ein Leerzeichen ("# ") vor die Message stelle, bekomme ich die folgende Fehlermeldung: "Error: Unable to encrypt memo, missing memo private key". Ich bekomme diese Fehlermeldung, auch wenn ich den Active Key verwende. Wäre super, wenn mir jemand weiterhelfen könnte. Ich habe im Internet versucht, Rat zu finden, die meisten Dinge, die ich gefunden habe, sind wahrscheinlich bereits überholt.
Danke euch!
Cu, Chris

private message.png

Sort:  

I dont think you are using your active key, because you can't login with that:

This password is bound to your account's active key and can not be used to login to this page. You may use this active key on other more secure pages like the Wallet or Market pages

The active key is requested after you submit the transaction.
You were probably logged in with your master key in the past, because to get the memo private key you need to use steem-python

Hey Miron, thanks for your answer. In fact, because of security reasons, I am usually using my Posting Key. I don't want my Master Key to be leaked to someone who then has complete control over my account. When I am sending transactions, I am prompted to use the Active Key. This was also the case when I tried to send the private message. I then used the Active Key, and still, I got (and still get) this error message.
I have never heard about steem-python. I guess it is only used with bots and apps etc, right?

But you have to use the master password at least once when you create your account :)
You can use steem-python from the command line too, it comes with the command line interface steempy that can create wallets, query transactions, import keys, upvote, tranfer...
One argumemt is updatememokey, ah I a have to get back at it again, maybe when it rains :)

interesting! Love to chat with you about that when we meet in person again. cu!

thx Miron, I have sent my first private message when I participated in the #Neulingschallenge by @TheAustrianGuy quite a while ago. It could be that back then I was using my Master Key. I have never used the "memo private key" before I got this error message. Now I have tried to use it , but still got an error message (see my reply to @luegenbaron).

Although the message said "This operation requires your Active or Owner key or Master password", it never worked, when I used my Active Key.

Now I used my Master Password and it worked! And after this, I tried it again with my Active Key, and it worked again. (@street.yoga: sorry, I abused your address as a test dummy. Hope this was ok for you, please accept the 0.002 SBD as a compensation. haha)

Hope this stays this way!

Thanks for your help, guys!!!

Der Fehler hat mich bereits davon abgehalten, bei zwei Gewinnspiele mitzumachen. Nämlich dem Votivkirchen-Gewinnspiel von @vikisecrets und dem Pixel-Gewinnspiel von @annikafried.
Also höchste Zeit, das Problem zu lösen. ;)
Cu, Chris

Schade, jetzr gehts ja wieder oder? Bei mir funktionierts genauso, wenn ich kein leerzeichen vor den text geb.. kannst du such nich versuchen ;)

Hi Annika, danke fürs Nachfragen. :) Ja, jetzt sollte es gehen. LG, Chris

Congratulations @smallstepschange! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes
You got your First payout
Award for the total payout received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

yey, I am so happy that I got the badge for my "first payout" haha

Hallo @smallstepschange, ich habe vor kurzem auch eine verschlüsselte Nachricht verschickt, allerdings im Memofeld nach der Raute keinen Leerschritt gemacht, sondern gleich die Nachricht angehängt. Hat funktioniert. Lg

Danke dir! Hab ich grad probiert, funktioniert leider auch nicht. Ich bleib dran!

Einfach auf Steemit.com in deine Wallet gehen
->Passwörter
Und dort sind Passive, active und der memo Key.
Musst dich halt mit dem active oder sogar master password einloggen um dir den privaten memo key anzeigen zu lassen.
Greets :)

Hi luegenbaron! Ich habe mich jetzt mit dem Master Passwort eingeloggt, und mir den Private Memo Key geholt. Danke für die Info!
Habe jetzt eine Transaktion mit "#" probiert, und auf Nachfrage den Private Memo Key eingegeben. Hat leider wieder nicht geklappt, ich habe einen Transaction broadcast error bekommen: "RPCError: missing required active authority: Missing Active Authority smallstepschange"

hmm! sehr komisch!
Ich probiere es auch mal eben, warte ;)

hmm komisch.. bei mir das gleiche

Hmm.. vllt muss man einmal das ganze mit dem Master Key gemacht haben um es zu 'aktivieren'
Ich selbst habe auch noch keine verschlüsselten Nachrichten geschcikt.
Werde es aber aktivieren ;)

You have to first log in with your memo key, then when sending type in your active key.

ok. Seems to work now anyway for me. thanks! :)