One productive Saturday, in a sea of unproductive days.

in #productivity4 years ago (edited)

image.png

Hi Everyone,

Today was a good day. I've had Rescuetime for longer than I can honestly remember, but only the last couple of weeks I have started looking at it seriously.

My average score is 37%, which is less than great, so I have tried to start picking up the pieces and actually hitting goals. I've set it up so that I am challenged to do 4 hours of productive work per day, which is a lot for me, considering my current record. I also get asked at 2 hours of productivity what I have done today, this is nice as it actually lets me realise that I've done stuff with my day. I've only just started doing it but it makes me want to get more done, so I guess that's a positive.

Much like with crypto, I think a good bit of "number goes up" is the motivation for this. For example, I'm now writing this blog post instead of playing games, because now the number is high, I don't want to lower it down too much before I go to sleep. After this, I'm definately going to play some games, no doubt about it, but if I can cut it down a little to keep my score higher, you know I'm going to.

Today's score would've been higher if I didn't play 30mins of CS:GO just past midnight, which is quite annoying, but it probably means that I'll go to sleep before midnight tonight so that I don't end up with the same red mark on my report tomorrow.

What do you think of this method of time tracking? I like it because it's done automatically and is a no brainer, and also there's no fudging the figures by me, as it's collecting data as I do things. I also like that it notices when you're idle and discounts that time, so you can't afk in your IDE for 5 hours and come back a "productivity guru".

If you're interested in trying it out and want to give me some free weeks of premium, you can try it out here. It's free! https://www.rescuetime.com/ref/2080353

Anyhow, thanks for reading.
~ CA

Sort:  

Looks promising I’ll have to check it out.

K bee man.

My first time to check you out since I've heard you are applying to be a witness on HIVE. Sometimes measuring your productivity rate isn't really a guarantee to gauge your real productivity in terms of actual gains. But yes we would be reminded to focus on what our priorities are. Dropping by to say hi.

Yes, totally. The application only measures time that I'm typing or interacting so it should be a little more accurate (especially in the case of programming, where it's pretty much all typing and clicking). It actually asks me what I've got done today after I hit my goal, so that's good to keep me in check.

Hi, and thanks for checking out my blog =)

Wassup, Mr. Productivity?! Wear your mask and stay home. Hahaha!

Hey, I am staying home. I don't really have a choice LOL

Keep up the great work @cadawg !

Thanks @darkflame!


Hey @cadawg, here is a little bit of BEER from @benedict08 for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.