How freeCodeCamp changed my life

in #programming7 years ago (edited)

I was a 3rd year high school student, the part of an individuals life where they start to think about what will they do in life? Me being one of those individuals started to think about some possibilities. I always liked my Computer Science classes but never thought of it seriously. But then saw some of my friends and relatives building web sites which looked pretty cool. Then I tough okay I can do this it seems pretty fun.

I passed a dozens of free online programming courses. Each one of them delivered quality content theoretically. But programming was a more practical skill. So one day I was searching for a course that could fulfill my needs and there it was everything i was looking for, freeCodeCamp...

freeCodeCamp had 3 main features that were really important for me, and I think for any body who is trying to learn coding.

  1. It is 100% free
  2. freeCodeCamp is community that helps you learn to code, then get experience by contributing to open source projects used by nonprofits.
    ***This part is my favourite, you get to learn to code, you get to work on a real life project and besides all that you get to help non-profits, excellent! Right?!
  3. People have actually gotten jobs after finishing the course!

My 4th year of high school passed by going to school, thinking what college to roll up and trying to finish freeCodeCamps fron-end certificate. On my 1st year of University I managed to finish the front-end certification program and managed to get an internship at a local start-up! In which I am still working.

Besides all the qualities I listed freeCodeCamp thought me so much more then programming. Through all the course you have a community which is so supportive, both technically and mentally. With each problem you face you get help almost immediately. And of course there is a great example.. Quincy Larson founder of freeCodeCamp (or as he calls him self teacher at freeCodeCamp) has built and is maintaining this platform all through his individual funds.

FreeCodeCamp has local study group all over the world in the past year we actually formed one in Sarajevo thanks to @adnanrahic which is a great place to meet people who are in a similar situation as you and of course there is always the possibility to meet experienced developers that you can learn from. Dont forget the cookies you get to eat!!!


*A photo from our last campsite.

For anyone who is willing to learn how to code freeCodeCamp is a great place to start. Even though Im not that experienced feel free to contact me and of course my friend @adnanrahic which btw is a great mentor!

Sort:  

Keep up the great work! I have high hopes. :)

Means a lot thank you!

Awesome! 👍
Freecodecamp helped me get my start. Then I went to a boot camp and now I am a software developer full-time.

Its great to see campers here too!!

You may not know how many people you just helped now by this post, there are people out there who really doesn't know where or how to start, imformation like this do helps a lot, thanks for sharing @mikail.bayram. You have my up vote. MORE LOVE from @maxdevalue

Thats exactly what freeCodeCamp is about, hearing things like this make me go further. thank you!

Then heavens is your limit!

This post received a 1.4% upvote from @randowhale thanks to @daynewright! For more information, click here!

👍

Awesome... this is what exactly what I am looking for. Thanks for sharing! Followed you...

Glad I could help ;)

You certainly do... keep on steeming!

Congratulation for your decision to change your life! :)

Congratulations @mikail.bayram! You have received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Do not miss the last announcement from @steemitboard!

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @mikail.bayram! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!