My love for Programming - The Desire to Continue

in #programming6 years ago

After secondary education, there was this display to look like what you wanted to become and everyone came looking amazing while I stepped in with a Jean and Top, yeah they all looked confused when they saw me, it looked as if I wasn't interested in the whole party to them despite the fact I was dressed in my career attire.

Of course every computer scientist wont look like others as there was this special look about us all, we look very simple in real life but deep in our minds are the craziest set of ambitions and idealistic imaginations. Looking simple is the essence of life, well all that was running in my head and I didn't notice my crush for a long time asking me why I was dressed like I wasn't among those who asked for the platform in the first place, it was a pat on my back that brought me back from my imaginations to the real world.

So after encouraging everyone to dress the way they would in their career path, you decided to look like you were going for a walk in the park.

Lol, I can not really explain the look on my face then, but I remember I was blushing because she spoke with me, then I had this what were you saying look on my face too and there was this confused one too because she was holding my hands and her face was close to mine.


Sorry for the diversion, I explained I was a computer scientist more like bill gates and my story looked like the best in the hall that day except for the aeronautic engineer who seemed like the most amazing in the hall, yeah everyone believed in each other's dreams and we all seemed like we were ready to work on it.

Few months later I got admitted into the university to study computer engineering, who does that I mean? I freaking applied to study computer science and you're giving me computer engineering, well that's how it is here in our country Nigeria, you apply for medicine and they give you sociology to study else you wait for another year to re-apply.

I told the admission officer that I wasn't going to accept computer engineering, and he went ahead telling me I didn't have a choice, well I wasn't ready to accept defeat so I went to the Director of admissions and complained to him, at first he sounded like the officer I had spoken with but then few minutes later he mentioned that I could actually change to the course I wanted easily, I did so that day and out of everyone that was given the wrong course of Study that year I can say I was privileged to choose what I wanted.


In the first year, not considering what we were in school to study, we all had to do the same subject combination as in secondary school and it seemed as if the school or would I say country rather doesn't have a standard for education. The stress of chemistry and Biology which I hated with passion is actually back for me to face for a whole year, how annoying can that be?

Attending lectures, copying assignments now note I didn't say doing assignments I said copying, that's because I almost never did any of the assignments myself throughout year one. I mean it was all too stressful to handle, First I had to deal with dressing and switch from the simple jean and top guy to this asshole dressed like a banker. That was like my worst Nightmare, and yes I had a lot of female friends and just one male friend and we were more like a tag team, that's @timmy-karis damn we were one hell of a terrorist group, despite our small statures we had huge guys threaten us because their girlfriends chat more with us in a day than they talk to them in a week. There was this one that actually hit my team mate out of jealousy lol, how childish and annoying.... I feel if your girl loves you, no matter the temptation she would stick to you.

Oooops not the diversion again, back to the story. We begun programming classes in the first semester of year 2, yep Introduction to programming and this time the language was C++ and I guess we did a little bit about visual basics which no one would even want to remember. C++ lectures became the most interesting in the whole semester because I was finally interested in Learning, there was this drive each time the lecturer stepped in and wrote some gibberish on the board, it felt like I was finally in the right place, sad thing is it always lasted for only 1 hour a day, three times a week. I caught up really fast and became a challenge to others only in programming classes though. I got to solve assignments and didn't have to copy any longer like in other courses for example math which was so much more annoying than SpongeBob.


And yes I remember, there was this lecturer Mrs. Funmi who was in charge of programming, she was my best lecturer then and it was simply because she had this drive for student's to learn how to code, but as usual there were challenges even from the school administration as there was no up to date and functional facility for us to practice, so we were basically running the code's with our head lol, we became compilers and translators ourselves.
Well then we used Dev Cpp IDE to do our coding and it was one heck of a program, we always felt really happy when one of us finally completed a task or assignment.

This got me more and more interested, see you soon I'll continue later