You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Programming Tips from a Team Lead

in #programming7 years ago

Glad you enjoyed it. Your comment is... well-timed! I am struggling with some of the same things myself. It is relatively easy to enforce code quality policies. It is a lot harder to change someone's attitude towards coding and work. I admit that I am in a somewhat pessimistic phase right now; it seems that some people have a desire to learn and grow, and others just want to do the minimum to get by. Not sure there is much that I can do to change that.

I have seen companies who have adopted rigorous training and development practices. I'm sure they get good results. I'm not sure I'm completely on board ideologically though. It can create an atmosphere of external motivation and performance expectations. This may ensure strong team performance, but I am not sure that it helps people realize their potential in a more holistic way. Interesting topic :).

Sort:  

Yes, indeed a quite intriguing topic. I definitely agree with you regarding the flawed ideology. Companies should push their employees to want to learn because of themselves, not because they need to. But that opens up another topic altogether. Some people simply do not have a desire to grow. They're perfectly content with where they are, and how they got there. The only thing you can do is to be a "community leader" of sorts. I've seen that it is much easier for such individuals to follow along to meetups or workshops if you are the one to instigate and create such events. Looking at your GitHub, I seem to doubt you are new to public speaking at events such as I mentioned above. :)

I'm very glad to have had this talk. Looking forward to reading more from you.