Programming

in #programming7 years ago (edited)

I have had very little experience with programming. This is mainly due to the fact that I have always been intrigued with other projects on hand, mainly related to networking or infosec. I have used programming to solve issues of mine, and I have written bots before, however my knowledge of programming is nowhere near the level of employable status. I think programming is an important skill for any technician. That's why I'm going to start developing my programming knowledge over the summer.

And of course it'll be on Steemit!

There are a couple different routes I can take for self education of programming. The cheapest (and perhaps lowest quality) would be to learn from free videos on YouTube. I'm sure there are a couple content creators (like Eli the Computer Guy) who have intro classes to programming.

I have also looked at joining Lynda.com. These classes and videos look much more developed than anything I would get on YouTube, and for that privilege there is a subscription fee (which my Steemit blog would help cover).

The final route, if I end up loving it, is to take a class at my community college. This would be the most expensive and most sturdy. I could easily cite "I went here and did X", whereas with any independent education I would most likely refer to a GitHub profile of projects.

Anyways, I'm leaning most towards Lynda.com. I'm going to give myself a week or two to think it over (and browse YouTube for good content) and once I make any progress I'll update Steemit with the news. Thanks for reading!

Sort:  

sounds cool! resteemed. im myself a programmer. the thing i like about it, its never really "casual" you always have to learn new stuff. working is always a challange because customres always want there unique and own solution. (at least were i am working lol)

would love to read about your progress :-)
cheers

That's exactly one thing I love about the IT industry. There's never really a time you have to stop learning something new and interesting. It could all be relevant. Thanks for the support :)

The first question if you want to learn programming should always be: What do I want to do (i.e. achieve)?

Hmm, like the end goal of a project? Like if you are developing an app?

Yes. Do you want to program an Android app, an iOS app, an operating system, a nuclear power plant control centre, a toaster or a website? Different needs call for different programming languages. ;-)

For example, I would never write an app in C and never attempt to write an operating system in Python.

Oohhh absolutely. To be honest, I would like to get a good spread of all of them, and then hone in on the project/language that catches my passion.

Right now the only languages I am slightly familiar with are Python (like everyone), JavaScript and AHK.

In that case: Stick with Python and learn as much as you can from here: https://www.learnpython.org/.