You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: #project-smackdown - trends report for phase 1

in #project-smackdown7 years ago

Delegating SP to spam fighters is necessary for now but in the long run every user should be running their own spam fighter instead of centralizing around delegates. I like to decentralize as much as possible. :)

Interesting point, I'll have to think about it. On the one hand I think that not everyone can and will be able to identify spam, simply because the worst users do everything they can to hide it. There's the idea of sybil accounts having a "small cut" with the larger network, which means that they do not interact with the majority in normal behavior and so we do not see them. We need specialized software to do this.

But why couldn't everyone have this software, like FOSSbot? Perhaps. I'm uncomfortable with the idea of making a flagging bot for inexperienced users, since flagging can have consequences for the user's real reputation (i.e. what people think, not the number beside their name).

To answer your questions:

  1. No, it only up votes, it doesn't flag, though it would be trivial to make that alteration
  2. Not in the current form. It could be done though. If you want it people add it as a feature request here
  3. Not really, that's all I have. Do you think I should write a post about it?

Thank you for your witness vote. I know you're a new back up witness too, good luck with it. Once I know more about you I might vote for you too 🙂 👍

Sort:  
Loading...