Climbing a mountain on Father's Day with my 3 sons

in #proofofbrain3 months ago

Let's climb a mountain!

It was Father's Day in Ireland last week and the boys treated me to a lovely day. It started out with golf at 7am and they had a lovely home made card and a present for me when I got home.

I really wanted to do something, so we decided to go out to the farm and climb a mountain.

Here are some photos I got showing the beautiful flowers, bog cotton, glacial erratic rocks, glacial lakes and much more.

In this fiest photo we see Lough Corrib, lush forestry and dark Galway clouds.

1000074570.jpg

Next we have a large erratic glacial rock and mighty windmills behind in the background.

1000074581.jpg

Next of all qe have a glacial lake, forestry and bogs lined with turf.

1000074633.jpg

Now for a splash of colour and some wild poppies with one of the Twelve Pins mountains visible in the background.

1000074524.jpg

On we go to another flower shot.

1000074574.jpg

Have you ever seen Big Cotton before? I thibk you'll agree, it's beautiful to look at blowing in the wind.

1000074540.jpg

This was the view half way up the mountain.

1000074576.jpg

Now for one of my favourite shots. Look at all of those glacial erratics peppering the landscape. Millions of years ago glaciars passed through this valley and deposited these massive boulders as they moved slowly along.

1000074587.jpg

Another one here of the very picturesque Bog Cotton.

1000074539.jpg

And another of those glacial Erratics that I like to see. You can't beat the rugged beauty of Conamara.

1000074588.jpg

This one shows a road cutting through the middle of the forest, with a lake in the background.

1000074632.jpg

You can just about make out my kids in this next one.

1000074654.jpg

Here is an even better one of the three of them enjoying the view.

1000074591.jpg

In this next one, we can see the rain starting to fall a few miles away in Oughterard.

1000074601.jpg

This is the view from near the top.

1000074595.jpg

This is the view in the opposite direction from near the top, beautiful isn't it.

1000074641.jpg

Back now with a splash of colour, these wild flowers found their way up here and dance happilly in the wind.

1000074659.jpg

Now a trio of photos of the lovely Bog Cotton. It's latin name is Eriophorum angustifolium and many people around the world actually eat this plant, though I've never tried it myself.

1000074649.jpg

1000074676.jpg

1000074679.jpg

Now I'll leave you with a nice pop of colour to close this series out. I hope you enjoyed these photos.

1000074700.jpg

1000074673.jpg

1000074694.jpg

1000074663.jpg

1000074682.jpg

1000074693.jpg

1000074681.jpg

The images used throughout are all my own captured on my Samsung Smartphone

Thanks as always for stopping by everyone.

Peace Out

hgjbks2vRxvdTZqrGLBoYwWBp8rgR9J79SFDpSmepFFhiR6Ms1XQYNxm9kthduYbC8rvbn89Q3imHuQx18xNYZoo2o (1) (2).jpeg

Sort:  

Mountain climbing is fine and all...

But if it's father's day, there's no way that I'll be up and about by 7am in the morning 😭😂😂😂

Dude I'm up at 6 or 7am mostly every day!!

Naaa mate...

That's unhealthy 😭

What an amazing Father's Day adventure with your sons brother. The mountain views and wildflowers are so stunning. It's clear you all had a memorable time together in nature. I know it passed but Happy Father's Day !WINE happy to be friends with you on Hive

Thanks my friend, it was a brilliant adventure and so many cool rocks and stuff for the boys to climb, so they had the best time ever!

So glad they did brother... Keep enjoying that father's day and have some !PIZZA

Ah you are making me miss the bog land now. Me being from the bog of Allen and all.
Hope all is well with you my friend xxx

All good here my friend, on a bus up to Dublin to see Pearl Jam as I type, so life iss tip top!! Ah yes, a good auld bog head like myself. That hard graft as a kid gives you a fantastic work ethic.

What a beautiful place! So green with all the flowers coming out, it must have been a great time with your sons out there. You still have some youngsters!

The mountains around here are a little bigger in California! Here's a shot on a clear day in winter, not mine I live closer to the coast. That and there's too much pollution from being over populated her in Orange County.


ocregister.com

What a beautiful place! So green with all the flowers coming out, it must have been a great time with your sons out there. You still have some youngsters!

Ya man, my boys are still young, 5, 8 and 11. We had a blast. They love a good adventure and so do I and ya Ireland is really green, all that rain will do that!

That mountain is seriously impressive dude!! We have some fairly big mountains here too, but nothing that impressive close to me.

And that's a small one! That whole mountain range runs from Mexico, California, Oregon, Washington stare, Canada and into Alaska. They were formed when the North American plate and Plate collided leaving us with the wonderful San Andreas fault line that could kill us all at anytime! lol

I have never eaten bog cotton but have used it daily 😜

🤣🤣🤣🤣

PIZZA!

$PIZZA slices delivered:
@theringmaster(3/5) tipped @ablaze

I wondered if those were poppies in the one photo. I don't think we get a lot of them around here.