ADVENTURES ON MY FIRST VISIT TO EVERYDAY SUPERMARKET OWERRI

in #proofofbrain2 years ago

I have heard a lot of stories about the ‘famous’ Everyday Supermarket ever since I moved to Owerri. Owerri is the capital city of Imo state located in the eastern part of Nigeria. I have been to so many other supermarket but you see this particular one, I have never been yet heard so much about it.
I remember when I was much younger at about seven years of age, I enjoyed going to the supermarket with my mum. I considered going to the supermarket a major outing to me at that time. I was always amazed at the huge building, the endless row of general merchandise, grocery items, household items and the fruit and vegetables section. The colors of the fruit and vegetables were eye candies for me whenever we got to the supermarket.

94273B15-55D8-46FF-92BF-7EE87F024581.jpeg

To me, I believed the supermarket was a place were adventures could happen. Going to the supermarket with my mum always overwhelmed me when I was a kid.
Due to all the memories and adventures I had when I was a kid, I decided to pay a visit to Everyday Supermarket Owerri. When I walked into the supermarket, the reception I got from the security men at the entrance was really great, also, the automatic door at the entrance made it easy to get access in. I am very sure if I had seen such automatic door when I was still a kid, It will seem like an invention from out of space. I am sure I would find were the sensor located a person and I will make the door reopen each time it will swing shut, thinking about it now, I would love to do that even as an adult just for the fun and adventure.

33B9A370-332E-4680-82CE-D655F74AF4EF.png

The supermarket is divided into various sections, there were sections of books, clothes, cutlery, toys, books, toilet goods, fruits and vegetables, drinks, general merchandise, etc. It also had areas like restaurants, pharmacy, bakery etc. The prices of all goods were properly marked.
The first placed I walked into was the fruit and vegetables section, this section was packed with people who were buying fruits and vegetables. Different fruits like oranges, kiwi, berries, bananas, watermelon, tomatoes, cucumber and others were available there to pick from. I love to pick ripe fruits, I love to feel the smooth flesh of a ripe tomato and imagine how beautiful it will look like in my pot of stew, also I love to feel the soft skin of peaches. While I was there, it was difficult to resist having a bite from those succulent fruits, I would have love to take a bite and taste the juicy sweet fruit.

Another section I visited was the bakery, I really wanted to try out the freshly baked cookies from the bakery.

B213F27E-B9CE-453C-A468-FDF7B164C9F4.webp source

I try not to visit the supermarket when I am hungry because it will make me pick out things that I didn’t even budget for. This craving was unavoidable, I had to pick out a chocolate chip cookie to satisfy my craving. They were my favorites! As I bite down on a piece, the chocolate immediately turns into liquid inside my mouth, how yummy.

7AE49BF2-BCEE-4F52-92BA-CF6FA093C38D.webp source

I perceived the aroma of their freshly baked bread, which came in coconut, fruit, sardine and family loafs. I have also heard stories of how Everyday bread is the best in town. I picked one fruit bread for myself and one for my family back at home. Surprisingly, the price was quite affordable, it cost me about a thousand naira for a loaf.

Today being a Saturday, the supermarket was packed with people, the aisles will turn into a traffic jam of both people and their shopping carts, and the check out lanes where a long queue of people. I also love to see the different outfits people came on, my favorite today was seeing a little girl on a colorful dress matched with a beautiful hat, with a huge bow on it. What caught my attention towards her was when she was running around and almost fell down the stairs while being chased by her not so big brother who was playing innocently with her, I was not the only one who took notice of her, there was an elderly man who first sighted her when she was about to fall down the stairs and screamed before she came to a halt. He then cautioned her and told her brother and herself to be more careful while playing and running around. She was indeed a beautiful little girl.

A6854D04-2D5B-408F-A467-E4162CE79145.jpeg

Due to the traffic at the check out lanes, I decided to wait a little until the crowd reduces. I remembered that a friend once mentioned they sold one of the best ice-cream at the supermarket. With excitement, I went and got myself a cup and had a taste for myself, that was the first time I was seeing ice-cream in a glass cup and it was delicious. My friend was right after all. While I had my ice-cream to pass time, I looked towards the check out lanes and noticed it was no longer crowded. Finally! I quickly finished up my ice cream and headed there.

3C459415-3F16-43AC-8FAF-4431B87C19F8.jpeg

This is the last thing that happened at the end of my shopping trip, I hate this part the most because of the annoying beep the scanner makes as it’s reading an item’s barcode. The sound kept ringing in my ear until I stepped out of the supermarket. I found my way home.
Offloading the items I bought from the supermarket helps calm me down from all the excitement I had experienced. I always look forward to my next trip to the supermarket and the kind of adventure I would have next.

Sort:  

Congratulations @queenb33! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You distributed more than 200 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 300 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Up Month - Feedback from Day 21