DON’T JUDGE A BOOK BY IT’S COVER - WHY PEOPLE JUDGE ME BY MY APPEARANCE

in #proofofbrain2 years ago

As the saying goes, don’t judge a book by it’s cover, never applies to humans because people tend to judge others by their appearance and this is very unfair. We can all agree that appearance are often misleading. The fact that I like to wear ripped jeans doesn’t mean I am not a decent person or not well brought up or because I tint my hair doesn’t mean that I have lost my values.

Most times, I tend to ignore what people have to say and just do me but some people still find a way to make even more judgements and find something to still ‘talk’ about. It shouldn’t matter if my skin is black or white, if I am fat or slim, If I am rich or poor, what should matter is the fact that I am still alive and healthy.

CA519DE0-9C06-4DC2-9633-2E408032EA57.webp source

This world is already a cruel and difficult place to live in, we shouldn’t make it even more difficult for each other. A lot of people have given up on life already probably as a result of the thought of what ‘people’ will say if they do not appear a certain way, do certain things, act a certain way or live a certain kind of lifestyle. That shouldn’t be the case at all. I am not saying not to be corrected when you are wrong but it should be done for the right reasons, no one is perfect!

I remember one time I posted a picture on Facebook then, when I used to be very active there. I just finished secondary school and I was waiting for admission into the university.

BDA3693A-65FB-4376-9209-85CDE74A2624.jpeg

On that faithful day, I took some pictures before going out and posted them on my page, I was wearing a yellow polka dots dress that wasn’t tightly fitted but a bit flare. I completely forgot I had posted pictures. When I got back home, after a long day, I noticed I had gotten a lot of notifications from Facebook, I wondered why I had too many notifications until I remembered I posted some pictures.

On checking the post as well as the comments on the pictures, I noticed one particular comment that stated ‘Congratulations, May God grant you safe delivery’.
In shock, I wondered why this person will leave such comment. I immediately recognized the person in the profile picture and it was an old classmate of mine. Why would an old classmate be this bitter and even make such comment? I thought to myself. To start with, I was never pregnant! I wasn’t even trying to conceive and for God’s sake, I just finished secondary school. Why should her first thought be pregnancy? Only to find out that her reason for making such comment was because she was the only one that noticed my protruding Stomach in the picture and made a comment about it.

FE929B71-E99D-41E6-A948-CCCAB5B50A23.jpeg

Really? That looked nothing like a baby bump, it was only as a result of my bloated stomach after having breakfast that morning. So what if my stomach was bloated and looking big? so what I had too much to eat? Me, that posted the pictures, didn’t I see the bloating before posting? Why judge me and even go as far as to make a nasty comment on my post. People can be horrible! The fact she didn’t even think to message me privately, worries me.

She probably had something against me while we were still in school and I didn’t know about it. Now, she saw this as an opportunity to show how bitter she was about me. But it didn’t end there, this troll still took it over to our WhatsApp group chat to recruit her fellow bitter soldiers. Too bad, she couldn’t find anything better to do with her time than to go about spreading rumors about me over a picture.
I later got a call from another classmate of mine who wasn’t comfortable with what had happened. I made sure I gave that ‘troll’ a serious warning and as well put her in her place. No one should have the power to bring you down or even judge you.

2E8D3FDA-3238-4A33-8112-4EAAC99541EC.webp source

The fact that I look a certain way doesn’t mean my life will turn out bad. I am sure from the story above, that bitter classmate of mine probably thought I will end up getting pregnant before I get into university because of my “looks”.

She was wrong! She should never judge people by their looks, no one should!

Sort:  

Imagine the thought she put into it by moving the conversation to WhatsApp 😄😄 People be crazy

Like do you get? She was just clout chasing and looking for attention, tueh.

Congratulations @queenb33! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You received more than 500 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 600 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

HiveFest⁶ Meetings Contest