You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Time I Tripped on LSD at Zion National Park, Utah, and Overcame My Depression

in #psychedelic6 years ago

This post spoke to me so much. Being a psychonaut myself, I thrilled to read such a fascinating account of someone's introspective journey on LSD, and the way it shows you just who you have been, and who you really are (or that you aren't). Your words are as beautiful as the landscape you've captured.

I absolutely love the way you described depression as "a way of creating a paradoxical alternative world where I had limitless possibilities, and my only enemy was myself, the One who kept me imprisoned in my unfulfilled, stagnant life". I could not help but sit back and marvel at how true that was, of depression. I could see myself in my periods of depression, having the potential to go out, to mingle, to laugh, to smile at myself, to indulge in life, to live... yet lying down in my room like a recluse, sulking, telling myself all that possible joy, that lightness of being, that peaceful respite from misery is all a ruse. Not worth experiencing. All unreal. Not seeing that they were no less real than my depression. In the end you realize, beyond the push and pull of both these forces, right between joy and misery, is the space where one is truly at home. Just a sense of being. The serene sense of 'I am'. Not I am this or that, but I am, and that, really, is enough. In fact, that's too much. It can fill you and overwhelm you and even overflow from you and start to touch everything round you, trees, rocks, water, sky, like it so often does on LSD.

I can not tell you just how well written your post is and how gripped I was in those few minutes (or was it a day?) of being in your head, of being you. I'm new here, with not a post to my name, but you've inspired me to write. Maybe I'll write about my own experiences on psychedelics. I've been intending to. And a quality piece like this is exactly what I needed for a push.

Thank you so much again, for this. resteeming and following. I'm going o read more of your stuff now.

Peace :)