You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Psychology Addict # 58 | Punishment – An Overview Through the Lens of Psychology.

in #psychology5 years ago

Sammii!!

I am not quite sure if this is appropriate but your comment actually made giggle!
Well, this part:

Staying a few days without punishment might also attract punishment.

Can you believe that? That is punishment for the sake of punishing. How confusing that might be for a child! My 9 year-old nephew often gets punished. I strongly disagree with it. But, hey, I am not his mum and dad. Last Christmas his punishment was not getting a gift, because he disrespected his grandmother (he shouted at her). Like you observed here I think this sort of approach just alienates the child, and I think it caused them to lose trust in their parents. I believe there are other ways of teaching a child that there are consequences to wrongdoing.

Punishing by means of physical aggression. NO, just simply no! This has a huge potential to kick start a very negative pattern or misbehaviour. It is very sad that people nowadays still resort to this mode of discipline. Those parents need to be better informed! To shape their children's behaviour through reinforcement, if anything. Just like you observed.

Thank you my dear Sammi, for your invaluable, constant support! You rock :*
Lots of love from hot Portugal! <3