You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Psychology Addict # 40 | How do You React to Your Own Negative Thoughts?

in #psychology6 years ago

What a most wonderful comment @dysfunctional (very psychoanalytical!) 😊 The perspective you presented here makes me wonder whether there actually is a fine line between self-observation and rumination.

Does self-observation becomes rumination when it enters this state?

makes you more anxious which leads to overthinking and reexperiencing negative thoughts and feelings over and over again.

Does rumination give way to self-analyses/observation

when the negativity and anxiety fade away when the event is not present anymore or lost it's significance.

therefore allowing the person to think clearly and objectively, and then welcome the Laura part of the self?

Further, it would be interesting to speculate whether Damian resists to Laura's actions (eg. clean his mess), and inviting her in as a result of rigid thinking.

Oh! thank you for giving me the opportunity to reflect on this from this perspective Dysfunctional, I read your comment with a smile on my face in awe of your train of thought.

Your last paragraph is beautiful, an this is why I am so passionate about my writing here. Because there are people like you (and many others), who I have the privilege to interact with and learn from ❤

Sort:  

Therefore allowing the person to think clearly and objectively, and then welcome the Laura part of the self?

That would be ideally speaking. Sadly that's not the case in reality.. I personally think that Damian does not allow Laura to take over by herself. They must live in peace with each other..

Your article provoked my thoughts and comments, so thank you. :)