You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Psychology Addict # 27 | Discussing Misconceptions about Psychology

in #psychology6 years ago (edited)

Here I am!! Actually, I have been looking forward to reading your comment :)

The question you ask here (How are gonna make more and more people understand that psychology really is?) is one I have been asking myself for quite a while. And the interesting thing is that ever since I started blogging on Steemit, I have found out that the misconception is much greater that I initially thought.

Education indeed plays an important role in debunking misinformation, but not in its traditional sense. What I mean by this is: we cannot expect that, let's say, schools teach kids about the fundamentals of psychology or mental health. That would be inappropriate! But, sometimes in my reflections I think we could expect that in schools we could be taught to not be so quick to form an opinion. We are not really taught, in a formal way, to do what you suggested: do a little research, balance things outs before making a final judgement, and this is the dangerous part: sticking to it forever with no flexibility (this is relating to the part you say we just become lazy)!

The beautiful thing, however, is that modern life has provided us with means such as this platform to educate and be educated. There are many open-minded people out there who are brave enough to leave their comfort zone and challenge their own beliefs. For example, you say in your country there is a huge misunderstanding of what psychology is all about. Yet, you don't fall for it, and that is why you end up in discussions and debates such as this one :)

So lovely to hear the thing you wouldn't change in your life! It does feel great having a loving family and loving them in return.

All the best to you my dear.
:)