Can You Please Just Leave Me Alone: The Positive Side of Social Withdrawal

in #psychology6 years ago (edited)

As a psychologist I often find the need to "normalize" many human responses, like the need to sometimes hole up and rejuvenate, staying away from others for a period of time. To bring this home I am inclined to tell them a story about my cat Sandy:

 

When I was about 6, my first pet, a cat named Sandy, got into a wood pile and somehow got a whole hive of bees mad at her and her tail must have swollen up to more that twice the size of her body. While she was affectionate and normally liked to be held, this time she would have none of it. My parents wanted to take her to a vet, and at six I had no idea that they probably would have put her down (she was in awful shape).

She jumped out of my arms and climbed into a tree hole at ground level, just big enough to hold her and her mega-tail. All you could see was her little eyes staring out from the dark, in the cave-like opening.  Nothing we could do would coax her out. For several days she would neither eat nor drink, but eventually she would come far enough out to take some water from a platter, and a few days later she began to eat a little, always returning to her sanctuary. She stayed there, licking her tail, until she was ready to come out.

Sometimes we are wiser than we know, and need some time alone to withdraw and conserve/replenish. One psychologically relevant term is conservation/withdrawal.  It is usually tied to animal behavior but I think illustrates why in the early stages of what may be a reactive depression, it is not necessarily a bad idea to deal with a bad patch by withdrawing. 



Conservation/withdrawal hypothesis.

Sort:  

I am the kind of person who likes to stay with people, even more during hard times.

A good support system is also good, and we can all use that. I would bet that you are an extrovert, they tend to get their refueling from being with others.

Thanks for this insight. I am an extrovert person,and love company of positive and intelligent people, but I also have tendency to withdraw and be alone from time to time. I think it's more important to stay connected with ourselves than staying connected with others.

everyone has different personality and different needs for personal space.

that's true.

The cat has 500 skeletal muscles (humans have 650).

Upvoted on behalf of @thehumanbot and it's allies. Write less but write great original content, and do not use bid bots for at least 1-2 days, for your post to be recommended to other curators. If you are using any image or video, cite proper source. Even if its your own image or video, it's worth mention the same. Also be careful to avoid duplicate posting.
Great Original Works are rewarded by top Curators, refer posts from my Step-Brother @humanbot for more details.If you like this initiative, you can follow me in SteemAuto and upvote the posts, that I upvote.
And remember to do some charity when you are rich by contributing to me. Check out my Introduction Post for more details. If you have any concerns or feedback with my way of operation, raise it with @sanmi , my operator who is freaking in Steemit chat or discord most of the time.

An adult lion's roar can be heard up to five miles (eight kilometers) away.

Most cats give birth to a litter of between one and nine kittens. The largest known litter ever produced was 19 kittens, of which 15 survived.

A tiger's stripes are like fingerprints̢

Ain't we like animals, too?

At least in the essence we are, that was indeed why I used my cat to make the point- social withdrawal can often, in the face of pain, be a good pratice

Congratulations @authorfriendly! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Great story to illustrate your point. The difficulty is recognising when it becomes a problem, rather than a solution. Upvoted, followed and resteemed. :)

I am typically an extrovert as many will know and find out. However, I do not have an issue with solitude. I am perfectly happy being alone. I like my privacy. I just wish there was a designated pattern for each of these episodes. It might aid others in providing compatible companionship.

I find as I get older my circle of outside influences has narrowed greatly. I am generally good with that. It creates an issue with my wife who is extremely social. She often participates in activities without me.

I have discovered that I have a place socially that I frequent. It is a generic four walls and a floor with a ceiling. Nothing is there, no furniture, pictures or people. If you see me sitting on a chair drooling, then you know I am in that place.

People often ask me what I am thinking about. I tell them 'Nothing'. I can do that.

If you see me sitting on a chair drooling, then you know I am in that place.

LOL! you make me chuckle.

Hey@authorfriendly! I saw your comment on my post and thought I'd stop by and take a sneaky peak at the things you write about and was glad I did. The cat analogy is a perfect example of what I went through during an episode of depression, the reaction was to withdraw into a hole, so I get the point you make.

You may have come across @abigail-dantes, she has an interest in psychology and has written posts on depression and treatments.. I'm sure she'll be interested in your views in this area. Peace.

You got a 10.87% upvote from @whalebuilder courtesy of @authorfriendly. Let your SP earn for you... Deligate it to @whalebuilder by clicking on one of the ready to delegate links: 50SP | 100SP | 250SP | 500SP | 1000SP | 5000SP | custom amount.

This post has received a 1.88 % upvote from @getboost thanks to: @authorfriendly.

Nice to read some writings from a psychologist! I think the withdraw like as you say could well be the start of a depressive period, and and interesting question, the mind would make us want to be in that alone space, but it seems to vary with different people and mind patterns.. if people have a depressive cycle, then they go recluse and then like before the same pattern of depression accurs.. Even when an outgoing person wants to be alone, its still that same igniting thought before the action- "ive had enough, i want to go somewhere else.."
Kinda the same with depression in a way but not. Anyway hard to say what i mean in text :) im following your blog, love the mixture and how all different humans are getting into cryptos!