Synchronisity and Coincidences: A call to attention?

in #psychology7 years ago (edited)

"If you hear the whispers, you don’t have to hear the screams." ~ Cherokee Proverb

Isn’t this so true when applied to Life?

Humor my ramble..


Synchronicity refers to meaningful coincidences.

i.e.: Thinking of a person and having the person call, looking for a parking spot in a crowded mall to have one open up right in front of you, etc.

“The surprise that occurs when the mind is mirrored by an external event to which it has no apparent causal connection.” Dr.Bernstein.

Along with most spiritualists, it is the belief that everything in Life has meaning. Encountering moments of synchronicity is a sign that you are on the right path, or a decision being the right choice.

” When the link between inner and outer is strong enough, intuition strikes so deeply that the world of appearances turns transparent, revealing an underlying structure that is perfectly organized. The unity experiences, which have occurred in every culture, gave rise to the world’s wisdom traditions.”by Deepak Chopra, Supergenes.

When a choice seems to constantly lead to dead ends, make different choices.

It could be with little things at first (minor annoying obstacles) and suddenly huge, important, sometimes catastrophic events (loss of job, lost in general, breakdown in relationships, etc).
You know, those times we wonder,
“What the hell happened?” or “How did I get here?”; pay attention to the ‘signs'.

The Universe will always whisper and if ignored, shove you in the right direction. These are the hard, but necessary lessons to get you where you want to be.

Maybe that’s how “everything happens for a reason” came to be.

Dr.Bernstein is the founder of the new discipline Coincidence Studies and has written a major book about it.

He has divided coincidences into the following categories:

  1. Synchronicity—psychological/ interpersonal coincidences.
  2. Serendipity—action coincidences; finding what you need when you need it.
  3. Seriality—strings of similar events.
  4. Simulpathity— “A specific subclass of synchronicity -feeling another’s distress at a distance”.
  5. Instrumental—useful coincidences that make you aware of a situation you weren’t aware of before and serendipity, when a person gets what he or she needs.

I should also mention, Dr.Bernstein is also the second person to publish a book on synchronicity, after Carl Jung.

The saying “Each level of Life will demand a different version of yourself”, is so powerful. Perhaps due to it's weight in truth.

Change is the only constant.

Many times in the past I have had to do a clearing of the people in my life, because they no longer benefited my soul journey and instead were turning me into someone I didn’t want to be.

I had to level up and release attachments to people/situations that didn’t deserve my attention.

  • Understanding someone else’s actions are their karma, and I am responsible for mine.
  • That sometimes, there is no need for words.
  • Learning to trust my Self and listen to intuition. - life changing.
  • The hardest lesson being first hand knowledge that nothing is as it seems, and people aren’t who they say they are - also the most liberating.

This applies to all aspects of our lives - listening to our intuition/trusting the process/living in the moment/living free of attachments.

Haven't you ever wondered, had I listened to the initial “whispers”, the gut feeling that ‘something wasn’t right’, perhaps the Universe wouldn’t have had to “scream” so loudly and play me like that?

...I can’t help but wonder, could all the ‘bad stuff’ also be part of synchronicity?

I’ve always thought of the ‘bad stuff’ to be the yin to my yang. You know, balance.

Browsing articles, I found this quote :

“If things go badly for you, keep your balance and accept whatever happens as a learning opportunity. Look for opportunities to transform the situation into something better by applying your strength and intuitive wisdom. Your positive energy will eventually come back to you.”by Willie Norup, author of I Ching for Wise Living and Aging.

…And I realize that even the bad, depending on perspective, all the negative could pass as a form of synchronicity! - guiding me in the right direction.

I mean Hey, everything happens for a reason, right?

Cest la vie!

Follow me @BelleKaur.

Image:1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6

Further Reading:

  1. Synchronicity, Evolution and Your Genes
  2. Frontier Science: Dr. Bernard Beitman on Coincidence Studies, 2014.

Previous Psychology Articles:

  1. Happiness: A Product of Evolution or Positive Psychology?
  2. Personal Narratives: Reclaim Your Past & Envision Your Future.
  3. Duchenne Smiles and possible Darwinian Value.
  4. The Familiarity Principle.
  5. Kindness and the Pursuit of Happiness.
Sort:  

nice post....interesting..makes me think that's for sure...

my mind runs wild sometimes, lol!
...it definitely got me thinking, if everything happens as it should, why do we stress over bad situations, right? :D

I've definitely been in sync with the universe. Anyone who refuses to believe this universe does not generate the energy you call upon is most likely in denial.

agree 100%! the universe is a magical place, if we only choose to see.