Building New Habits Through the Power of Momentum

in #psychology7 years ago

20031844_10211506300667413_5192346403413815508_n.jpg

For all of you Aber’s out there, you’re very familiar with the term MOMENTUM pertaining to concepts of reality creation. (If you don’t know what the hell an “Aber” is, it’s someone who is a devout Abraham Hick fan. If you've never heard of them, you can youtube the shit out of em'... highly recommend)

This morning I’m thinking about momentum, as I sit down to write and am remembering a time just a couple months ago when I was writing daily and it got to the point where, I shit you not, my blog posts were simply writing themselves.

Somewhere somehow, I stopped writing daily and now when I sit down to write it feels much more laborious.

This is the power of momentum in action… which is really just another word for habit.
Habits are built in the tiniest of moment-to-moment choices.

What you’re choosing NOW, matters.
What you’re doing NOW, matters.
What you’re focusing on NOW, matters.
What you’re thinking about NOW, matters.

What’s really cool about habits though, is that the moment you commit to making a different choice (and then follow through on that choice) you begin QUICKLY gaining momentum in favor of that new habit.

So, in the example of my writing I know that if I just commit to putting my fingers on the keys everyday, even if I think I don’t know what to write about and even if it feels hard in the moment, very soon I will be back in the momentum of words flowing freely and blog posts writing themselves.

(For bonus life credit, I couple the action piece with positive affirming self talk in favor of my desired habit. Science says that it takes 21 days of consistency to build a new habit, but I think for us conscious creators it’s MUCH faster.)

Another example I like to use is running. When you first get started, let’s face it… it’s kinda blows. It’s hard, you can’t breathe, your muscles hurt. But when you choose to just show the fuck up and run even when you don’t feel like it, before you know it your body is moving all on it’s own, your lung capacity increases, your muscles acclimate, and it gets waaaaay easier.

The problem is that we think writing or running (or whatever) is going to remain as hard as it is in the beginning, so we quit… usually right before it begins to get really easy. And then we do this start-stop-start-stop thing that is actually SO. MUCH. HARDER. than beginning and never ever stopping.

If we’d be willing to commit, stick it out, and stay consistent… momentum would build and take over. That’s when blog posts write themselves and bodies run on auto-pilot and shit gets insanely easy.

The same goes with your habits of thought, which is what Abraham Hicks is always talking about (and what is the central focus of the mentoring I do with my clients) This is why I believe those who have been consciously directing their thoughts through mindset work, can actually build external habits much MUCH quicker than the average bear… which is pretty badass, if you ask me.

I’m wondering, what new habit you’re wanting to commit to today?
What would you need to choose differently NOW in order to begin building momentum in favor of that? Share in the comments, if you feel inspired to.

Until next time...

No Limits. Just Love.
~ Chandra Nicole


Let's play together everywhere!

FACEBOOK

CHANDRANICOLE.COM

Sort:  

enjoy the here and now.

Now is where it's at! ;)

@chandranicole I'm one of the curators part of @ocd and found your article and absolutely loved it. I literally preach the exact concepts you talk about momentum and the present state being so important. So want to nominate you to get you some more recognition :)

This gem of a post was discovered by the OCD Team!

Reply to this comment if you accept, and are willing to let us share your gem of a post! By accepting this, you have a chance to receive extra rewards and one of your photos in this article may be used in our compilation post!

You can follow @ocd – learn more about the project and see other Gems! We strive for transparency.

Ohmygoodness that's amazing! I'd love to share <3
Soooooo glad to get connected with another deliberate reality creator here on Steem and I'm REALLY excited to learn more about the ocd project... heading over now to check it out!

Heck yeah I am so happy to hear. You'll be in the batch of nominations in two days so stay tuned. Hopefully you make it, I have a good feeling you will.

And thank you for those kinds word you are amazing :)

Awesome! Thank you!!

Just reply with a comment and I'll pass this content on to the team of @ocd so we can vote on it :)

Thank you so much!

you're Welcome :)

thanks for what you are doing, upvoted and followed

Thank you! It truly is my pleasure.

Wonderfull eyes ... Congratulations on your new habits :)

Thank you... an thank you! lol

Nice Steemit post, lots of helpful info. Keep up the good work!

Thank you for stopping by and for the encouragement.... I really appreciate it!

Nice! Great post. Building momentum is a great way to add value to healthy choices. Of course I enjoyed the reference to exercise.