You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Empathy: The Dark Side of Feeling What Others Feel

in #psychology6 years ago

I definitely feel this way. Sometimes I feel being so empathetic is a curse. I give a homeless person some cash and think about for days or even weeks. When it turns winter in Chicago I feel sorry for animals that are outside, and people who dont have homes. (To the point that I lay awake at night thinking about it) When people have troubles I get so stressed out that I dont even want to see anyone. I dont even watch the news anymore. Thanks for the tips, I will look into managing it better.

Sort:  

I stopped watching the news years ago just because I used to feel really bad every time I heard bad things happen to people all over the world.
Not being able to manage it can be crucial for your health - emotionally and physically.
Take care of yourself! :)