Does Weather Really Affect Mood?

in #psychology7 years ago (edited)

Its been raining here in South Florida for 5 days straight and I am starting to go a little crazy! I've never seen such constant rain before all my years living here. So the question is.. is there a scientific explanation as to why weather affects mood? The answer is yes!

Seasonal Affective Disorder:
A type of depression that occurs during the same season each year. You may have SAD if you felt depressed during the last two winter months, but then feel better in spring and summer.
What causes SAD?

  • May be caused by lack of sunlight
    -upsets your "biological clock" which controls your sleep-wake pattern
    -causes problems with serotonin, a brain chemical that affects mood.

Now granted, this is an extreme form of feeling a little down while theres no sun and constant rain (in my case) but it is fascinating how delicate our psyche is and how important sunlight is.


A view from my backyard (pool is about to overflow from all that rain!)


The sun will eventually come out again. Missing those beautiful skies.

Source: webMD

Sort:  

Where I live it's cold and snowy all winter. Halfway through the year people are irritable depressed hermits lol exaggerating but. The sun at the least most seriously does. U can see it right now spring is here everyone's out cheery lol for sure

It certainly does, but probably from being inside. Even when it rains here in Aus, I go for a run or exercise outside. Completely changes the mood....

Exercise helps me too! Just got back from the gym and I feel better :)

Vitamine D affects you mental health not only your bones and exposure to sun elevates serotonin also. There is a widespread deficiency of vitamin D because people are staying in closed doors ( at work and at home) alot more than before. Because of that depression is widespread also.

Very true!

Good sharing ,thanks.

I totally support your postulation... I mean, sunlight is sometimes used to connote happiness. Persistent rain may come with gloominess. I have first hand experience. It's rainy season here in Nigeria, and rains are heavy and are associated with thunder. It gets really dark during heavy thunderstorms and this may leave one in an uneasy mood so much that a ray of sunlight is appreciated in this weather 😊

Sunshine always makes me feel better 😀

Haha😁
Me too..