Venezuelans around the world, opportunities and abuse (Xenophobia)

in #psychology5 years ago

Venezuela is experiencing the greatest exodus of nationals who have recorded the history of this South American country, the "country situation" as we say in the street caused the fragmentation of the Venezuelan family dispersing throughout Latin America and the Caribbean, so far the countries that most Venezuelans have received are:

Colombia, according to UNHCR data, in 2016, there were 48,714 Venezuelans in the country; in 2017, 600,000; in 2018, 1, 17 million; and, for June of this year, the figure is around 1.3 million people. They are followed by Peru, with 768,148, Chile with 288,233, Ecuador with 263,000, Brazil with 168,357, Argentina with 130,000 and Panama with 94,400.


Source

The reasons are widely known by the international community, but I want to remember them today because we cannot get used to living like this, hyperinflation, shortages, unemployment, very low wages among others, today a kilo of chicken in my city costs 60,000 Bs, approximately 3 $ , while the minimum wage of one month for an average Venezuelan is in the order of 40,000 Bs, which is equivalent to approximately $ 2.

The inflation figures are so alarming and varied that it is very difficult to publish them, but the BCV affirms that the country closed 2018 with an inflation of 130,060.2%, but the Parliament, which considered that the figures were “made up”, indicated that the Last year's inflation was 1,698,844.2% and according to the national assembly the index accumulated this year is 1,579.2%.

All these reasons are influencing more and more Venezuelans leaving their country, they are leaving not because they want but forced by this huge economic crisis, every Venezuelan comes out with tears hoping to find opportunities to survive and help those left behind, a sad reality That seems inevitable and multiplies with the passing of days.


Reality outside our borders

The reality is different for everyone, logically because as human beings we think differently and we have different abilities, some arrive with the support of those who left before, others arrive hoping to find support to start again in a place where they feel and are a completely strange, but the point I want to share today is how they see us and receive us in other countries, what is the treatment they give us and the opportunities we receive.


Gratitude

Most of the countries where Venezuelans are emigrating have really created opportunities for us, beautiful stories of solidarity, humanism, understanding and brotherhood among our peoples are being written, although there are isolated inhuman and worrisome cases that I want to refer to today.


Prejudice

A prejudice is an opinion, usually of a negative nature, that we have formed about something or someone in advance and without due knowledge. In this sense, prejudice is the action and effect of prejudging. Prejudging, as such, means judging things ahead of time. The word comes from the Latin praeiudicium.

Xenophobia

As xenophobia is called rejection, hatred or hostility towards foreigners or foreign things. The word, as such, is composed of the words xeno- and phobia, which in turn come from the Greek roots ξένος (xénos), which means ‘foreigner’ and φοβία (phobia), which indicates ‘fear’.


Source

Xenophobia, segregation and similar events are mostly caused by prejudices of people who make wrong decisions based on false data about an individual or by the particular attitude of someone who comes to damage the group's reputation by creating a false opinion about of the behavior of this group, this leads them to take detestable and condemnable actions such as the hello of xenophobic attacksin Ecuador in 2018, caused by the murder of a woman or the murder of a man in trinity who was shot from a vehicle when he was about to ask for asylum in an embassy.

These and other events that occurred in different countries, of which we can find reference in the news web portals around the world are cases that should call us to reflection, no Venezuelan wants to leave his country, nobody wants to sell what it cost him a life of sacrifices to start over in another country, however, the crisis overcomes us and displaces us, forcing forced separation from the family.



Source

A call to conscience.

We Venezuelans are passing through the world, we Venezuelans have the hope and certainty of returning to our country, do not classify us as undesirable, lazy or criminal people, we only look for opportunities to move forward, to feed and dress the family, not discriminate against us, do not mistreat us, do not reject us, create opportunities for people who know how to thank, a nation that opened its doors to receive millions of emigrants from all over the world but today claims HOSPITALITY and NOT XENOPHOBIA .

Let me know your opinion about this topic, Have you ever experienced a case of xenophobia? What is your opinion of the Venezuelan case?


PROJECT #HOPE An Initiative to give hope!

@crypto.piotr, @cyberspacegod, @achim03, @lanzjoseg, @fucho80, @neavvy, @juanmolina, @jadams2k18, @machnbirdsparo, @honarparvar, @guruvaj, @alokkumar121, @edgarare1, @flash07, @djennyfloro @spirajn, @gandhibaba, @reverseacid.


Proyecto Esperanza.jpg

Sort:  

Hi @fucho80,
This is a very interesting post. The situation in your country sometimes leaves only this possibility: to emigrate. The lives for the people leaving the country is however not automatically better because they might be facing other problems:

  • where to go?
  • how to find a job?
  • being away from the home and the family
  • And finally there is this problem of how one is accepted in the new place. In my city in Switzerland there are only 55'000 inhabitants but among them 55 different mother tongues are spoken. In my kids classes there are up to 10 different nationalites. We are used to people from other countries and see it as an enrichment. However if a village that before didn't shelter foreign people is faced with many foreign emigrants xenophobia and racisme can be the result. When something doesn't work well, the foreigners are often the responsables in the eyes of the population.

I think that having to leave ones country must be horrible but when it's not possible to feed your children anymore, what choice do you have? I hope that steem could be an answer for many of your compatriotes to generate an income outside of the country and bring value in.

Best regards,
Achim

Hello dear @achim03, thanks for your comment.

In my city in Switzerland there are only 55'000 inhabitants but among them 55 different mother tongues are spoken. In my kids classes there are up to 10 different nationalites.

Wooo friend that so interesting data, I had no idea of ​​that and it seems something exemplary and worthy of admiration, a really wonderful mix.

I hope that steem could be an answer for many of your compatriotes to generate an income outside of the country and bring value in.

That is a reality and not only steem but cryptography in general, these days Venezuela again had a record of transactions with bitcoin and according to reports more than $ 300,000 was the amount of transactions resulting from the exchange of steem to Venezuelan currency in a single schange, This gives us an idea of ​​what steem represents for Venezuelans.

Right now I am working on the advice of some blinds who want to create accounts on steemit and start publishing with the intention of generating an income, for which I request your support as well.

Thanks friend!
@fucho80

Dear @fucho80

It's very saddening to see what your country is going through and I believe it's important to learn some lesson here. After all upcoming recession (which will most likely hit us hard in upcoming 2-3 years) will most likely result with many currencies around the world losing their value.

However, most likely no other country will be hit as hard as Venezuela.

ps. you used to be overrun with immigrants from Colombia in the past, right? I think there were more Colombians in Venezuela at that time, than there is Venezuelans in Colombia. Correct me if I'm wrong.

How does it look now? Did most of those people come back homes? Or did they stay for good in your country?

Yours
Piotr

Hello dear @crypto.piotr thanks for your interest in this topic.

ps. you used to be overrun with immigrants from Colombia in the past, right? I think there were more Colombians in Venezuela at that time, than there is Venezuelans in Colombia. Correct me if I'm wrong.

How does it look now? Did most of those people come back homes? Or did they stay for good in your country?

It is very difficult for me to answer your question exactly, what I can assure you is that Venezuela has been the home for thousands of Colombians and many have lived here for years by the nearby border.

According to official sources in Venezuela, 721,791 Colombians resided in 2011. But external sources say that the figure is between 1 and 2 million people, however, due to the crisis an average of more than 300,000 left the country.

Friend, in addition to Colombia, Venezuela has been for years the home of many foreigners who have been treated with dignity and respect, have grown up here, worked generating wealth and living as natives of our country.

We are not a plague that goes around the world trying to take anyone's resources, we are a people who circumstantially live in disgrace but who will rise and return to be prosperous.

Thank you friend, you have shown genuine interest in the situation of our country as well as most around the world.
@fucho80

Hello my friend @fucho80

It sounds very sad. Many people in your country are suffering including you my friend.

Huge decision: Leaving the Country or stay in the Country doing something more to care your family.

I wonder why a representative called governments are destroying your beautiful place and forced people to leave the country finding a better lifestyle.

I met some friends from Venezuela living now in Canada and talking with them about your place and the corrupt system that the politicians implement is wrong..

Many people, families, children don’t have the basic stuffs.

I won’t talk about places where the governments don’t care people life’s ... but all those representatives need more knowledge about that huge problem...!!

How to help you my friend ..?? Any Delegation, any liquid Steem ..!!

I always try to help people, for now I want to do something special for you my friend...!! Check my wallet and give a number just like that...!!!

Yours,
Edgar...!!

Posted using Partiko iOS

My dear @edgarare1, thanks for your comment and your generous proposal.

How to help you my friend .. ?? Any Delegation, any liquid Steem .. !!

As you will understand the situation in my country for me and for everyone it is very difficult, but I share with you my case: My wife is pregnant waiting for her birth in this September, in Venezuela the school year starts next week, I have three children in the The oldest school is 16, next year I will go to university, so I have many urgencies that lead me to think about the need to emigrate, but to be honest, I don't want to leave the country so my situation is very difficult now same.

Our generous friend @crypto.piotr is supporting me with some liquid steem that transferred to my wallet, now I am hoping to convert them to fiat to cover some expenses, however it is not enough. So I really appreciate your proposal.

I always try to help people, for now I want to do something special for you my friend ... !! Check my wallet and give a number just like that ... !!!

I do not know your situation and saying a number is not easy due to the urgencies that I must cover, I do not want to abuse your generosity, so I would like your conscience to speak now, if I would have to say a number I would say not less than one hundred steem , this, logically moved by necessity, but you have the last word. The help you decide to send will be well received and I will appreciate your support.

Note: I think you are witnessing the effort I make every day to publish, seeking to generate some income to meet the needs of my family and although sometimes I do not see the effort rewarded in each publication I do not stop and continue to investigate, inevitably and writing continued trying to stay active on the platform.

I did not expect this proposal but I fall from the sky, thank you brother!
@fucho80

Hello again my friend @fucho80

I understand all the situation in your country and because of that you are in that position.

Yeah, you right, I see all your publications and I read all of them, sorry if you don't receive any comment from me but I always try to upvote at 100%.

Family is first, Congratulations for your baby...!!! Yeah, necessity is really difficult, and I think all the time why people are suffering in this life with all the resources we have in this world... That´s very sad...!!!

I know, @crypto.piotr is one of the biggest friend I met here. And he push me if I remember in my first week. So, Yeah.. He is always looking for support to someone else....

I received your number my friend, well, let´s do it right now...

Check your wallet, my gift is coming for you and your family... I hope this small support helps you to cover some expenses...!!!

Have an amazing time..

Yours,
Edgar...!!!

My dear @edgarare1, I am overwhelmed with what you have done, I do not know if you believe in God, but if you believe in some supreme being he will reward you, if not, here you have a friend who would appreciate this generous gift, my family will be very happy when I told him this.

Thank you friend, there are no adequate words to thank you.
@fucho80

Just enjoy it..!!! It will be the best..!!

Posted using Partiko iOS

@fucho80, Definitely this situation forced many people to leave their soulful place. And the reality of this world is dual means, at one place we receive blessful behaviour and at the same time other places feel like a cage. Hope that for Venezuelans tough times will going to over very soon. Stay blessed.

Posted using Partiko Android

Hi @chireerocks, thanks for your comment.

Hope that for Venezuelans tough times will going to over very soon. Stay blessed.

I appreciate your fifties desires and those kind words, I think Venezuela will get up and we will leave this difficult situation.
@fucho80

Welcome and let's pray and let's strengthen the Faith.

Posted using Partiko Android

Interesting is the number of Venezuelans who are emigrating or planning to do so.

I see it directly in my work, school enrollment has been declining in recent months.

On the other hand, rejection is seen more than anything else in Latin American countries. The anti-Venezuelan campaign has been strong through the media.

Greetings!

Hi friend @yonnathang, thanks for your comment.

Interesting is the number of Venezuelans who are emigrating or planning to do so.

It is very sad to have to go through this situation, Venezuela is a country with a lot of wealth and that you have to leave it to feed your family is something very difficult, also the Venezuelan was never an emigrant we were not used to this.

On the other hand, rejection is seen more than anything else in Latin American countries. The anti-Venezuelan campaign has been strong through the media.

Wooo this is the most difficult part of emigrating from my point of view, having to reach another country to be mistreated, so that they see you as a plague or something like that is very degrading, logically there are good people around the world who understand the situation and They are willing to support.

Friend, thank you very much.
@fucho80

We Venezuelans are passing through the world, we Venezuelans have the hope and certainty of returning to our country

I hope we can make more citizens of the world think like this.

Also, TY for the numbers. I was just discussing the mass exodus of people from Venezuela this past weekend. I also mention how Steemit is an asset in this regard.