You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Trichotillomania Vlog 1 ~ Cringeworthy Awkwardness

in #psychology • 7 years ago

😳 😳 😳
I didn't know what trichotillomania was. So I was watching, and when you showed what it is, I was doing exactly that!!! I don't really pull out my hair, but I keep running my left hand through my hair, like non stop, especially when I am stressed.😳
I need to go.
Do some research.

Sort:  

Haha very interesting! It started out as a comfort thing / coping mechanism I guess. I always played with my hair or was messing with it and over time I would pull and not realize what was going on. I'm trying to be more mindful and catch myself in the moment and replace the actions with other things like playing with rubber bands in my hands (tactile stimulation) or something else that feels similar.