Trichotillomania Vlog 1 ~ Cringeworthy Awkwardness

in #psychology7 years ago

Fun fact: for the past ten years I've been somewhat discreetly managing trichotillomania. I've heard it classified as an anxiety disorder, OCD variant, and most recently BFRB. As you can tell from the sufficient awkardness it would be comfortable enough for me to NEVER speak of this again, except that I think it's important to educate people and open dialogue.


Things I've learned from trich:

1) Love yourself. You're all you've got.

2) Don't sweat the small stuff.

3) Be kind. You never know what someone else is going through.


Much love,

@sarahtops9000

Sort:  

What a nice girl, talking about her condition to help others, very selfless, and something i did not know about.

Thank you that really means a lot

You're most welcome !

Your video made me a little teary eyed! You are so brave to be able to make a video about your journey with trichotillomania. You are brave and strong and I love you! So proud to call you my best friend.

Aww I love you Katie <3 You've been one of the most supportive people in my life. I am so proud of you too.

I'm always proud of anyone who can share a difficult experience, especially so that it can help inform and empower others who may be suffering or just straight up have no idea about the issue.

Exercise is a known cure of anxieties, so definitely keep that up. Also aromatherapy techniques like burning frankincense when coping with something that causes you stress can be very beneficial. It always helps calm me down. Then of coarse there is meditation, which is just all round amazing for everyone!

Your challenges are your strengths Sarah! Share them so others with similar conditions don't feel alienated and alone.

Great vlog, even if you were feeling nervous while recording. I'm so glad you had the courage to post it. That took guts <3

That's really the only reason I talk about these things. I don't want anyone else to feel alone because it's an all too familiar feeling, so I can manage a few moments of discomfort lol. Thanks for the tips. You are always so sweet.

I don't have trichotillomania, but these 3 lessons are powerful ones to learn. I have, and still am, learning these as I travel the path of life.
Thanks for sharing this reminder.

Thank you :) that's what I've found that while difficult it's given me a lot of perspective.

I never knew about this condition, brave of you to talk about it so good job :)
Resteemd

Many people don't :) apparently it affects 4% of the population, we are just really good at hiding it. Thanks for the support <3

http://www.huffingtonpost.com/2012/07/31/trichotillomania-disorder-olivia-munn_n_1723757.html

My friend has this condition, I'm sorry to hear you're struggling with it. I hope you find some relief from it soon.

It's always interesting to see who either has it or knows someone that does. I'm doing the best now that I have in a long time, thank you <3

You're welcome, sorry about the word salad in my original post, I've edited it so the grammar actually makes sense! My friend who has it also has ADD and anxiety, so I think it's all wrapped up in that for her. I hope you continue to improve. :)

I didn't even notice! Haha. Do you happen to know if they are on any trich forums? There are a lot of amazing resources online, and it's all private. It was a great place for me to vent or get ideas.

I think there are a couple of decent sized Facebook groups, if you're on there.

It takes a lot for someone to do what you just did right now. I see nothing but bravery in you, and making yourself vulnerable to this community makes you a hero to many. Thank you sharing. I'm rooting for you!

Thank you love <3 that really means a lot

This is really great, being able to talk about some of life's challenges. Everyone has something that slows us down. It's nice when we can admit those challenges to ourselves and others. Personally, I am incredibly disorganized and I suffer from ADD. I try to manage those both the best I can. Katie is constantly helping me. Haha

Thanks for sharing!

Thank you Clay that means a lot. At the same time, one thing I've found is that people that have been through adversity always have something special to bring to the table :) whether that is ADD or anything else. Glad Katie is so supportive, it's important to have someone like that in your life. She has been a major support for me in my struggles as well and I love her all the more for it.

😳 😳 😳
I didn't know what trichotillomania was. So I was watching, and when you showed what it is, I was doing exactly that!!! I don't really pull out my hair, but I keep running my left hand through my hair, like non stop, especially when I am stressed.😳
I need to go.
Do some research.

Haha very interesting! It started out as a comfort thing / coping mechanism I guess. I always played with my hair or was messing with it and over time I would pull and not realize what was going on. I'm trying to be more mindful and catch myself in the moment and replace the actions with other things like playing with rubber bands in my hands (tactile stimulation) or something else that feels similar.

You got me to google "Trichotillomania" before I even watched the video.

So... There is that.

Best wishes!!!

@sarahtops9000 I am starting a podcast where I interview other entrepreneurs, I would like to invite to the inaugural episodes.

The podcasts will be hosted on my youtube account: https://www.youtube.com/nantchev

We talk about what they are doing with their life, business as well as their journey. A casual conversation about entrepreneurship.

That sounds cool I will check it out

This is the beginning of the podcast- so I have yet to record episode 1.
Click here to get started and pick a time for our interview.
https://calendly.com/adriannantchev/entrepreneur-podcast

Love your transparency beautiful! <3 @sarahtops9000