You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Psychology Addict # 63 | Loneliness or Emotional Dependency?

in #psychology5 years ago

Now I'm suddenly part of your analysis!

Without much research behind my statement I would claim you need to be happy alone before you can be happy with somebody else. "the cookie jar" methapor is my favorite one:

If you have a empty cookie jar, you cannot hand out any cookies, but only take from your partner. Just like if you are not happy and do not love yourself, nobody else is gonna be able to completely fill that void without sacrificing their own.

I actually think the fact I learned to be on my own also have ment my partner can worry if I even want anything from her, I never ask much from her except for us being on good terms. A bit boring and not very romantic I guess :-)

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

Hey @holm :)

Well, both your post about you cycling journey with your girlfriend as well as the one you did on your own fascinated me :)

I like analogies like the one you mentioned here. They are very efficient in conveying deep, serious messages in a lighthearted way. Not expecting much from one's partner other then a peaceful relationship is a promising starting point for a life of calmness and mutual understanding together.

I think, in general, as a society we have been sold the wrong idea of what romanticism should really mean ;)

All the best to you two !