Breaking Cycles of Negativity

in #psychology6 years ago (edited)

fantast blur red.jpg

Breaking Cycles of Negativity

I had a realization last night on my way home from work.
Since December of 2015 I have been actively focused on adopting an abundance mindset, rejecting unnecessary negative thoughts, and accepting positive thoughts and feelings of gratitude.

Time flies and I hadn't realized that I've been working on this for 2 years!
I strongly believe that our environments are a result of our thoughts…..….that our thoughts shape our realities.

In the past, my energetic Karma was horrible. I was stuck in a vicious cycle of negative energy.
My thoughts and feelings were negative, which resulted in negative life choices, which resulted in a negative environment, which brought on more negative thoughts and feelings…and the cycle continued.

Divider-1.png

How did I break out of that cycle?


First, I physically removed myself from the negative environment that I had created by moving from NY to TX.
I instantly felt relieved, but of course that didn’t last long because…well…
Wherever you go….there you are…..

fantasy eyes.jpg

I knew I had some internal work to do, but I wasn’t sure what to do or where to start so I just went with my intuition.
I began studying spiritual alchemy and along the way I found a channel on YouTube called Mind and Magick Mystery School.
The first lesson, and a concept that continues throughout the lectures, is to reject and banish all negative thought, while accepting all positive thoughts.
This was easier said than done for someone who was trapped in a negativity loop, but I put the concept into practice and I’ve been doing it somewhat successfully for 2 years.

One of the reasons it’s difficult to be successful with this exercise in the beginning is because if you are in a negativity cycle, you are still attracting negative energy that you had previously sent out.
So, while you are trying your best to reject all negative thoughts, you are still being bombarded with negative energetic karma so it can feel like nothing is changing.
This was my experience, but I just kept doing it every day, even when my life seemed like it was falling apart all around me.

DailyGratitudeJournal (1).jpg

2 years ago I initiated this process by starting each day with a meditative gratitude exercise, thinking about or writing down what I was grateful and thankful for. This included what I already had in my life, as well as what I wanted to manifest into my life.
Throughout the day, I would just be aware of how I was feeling. If I was feeling negative then I would trace that feeling back to the thought that created that feeling. If it was something I could control, I would fix the problem. If it was out of my control or just an unnecessary negative thought I would reject it and think about something else.

What I realized last night is that my life really has changed for the better.
I still have dark days as life is naturally filled with light and dark, but I can feel that I've broken the cycle of negativity.
I have been doing this for 2 years and there is not only a positive change in my environment, but the change started first within me, and that is what has made all the difference.

fantasy dream 3.jpg


I hope you all have a blessed and peaceful day

Divider-1.png

Sort:  

Daily gratitude journals are very powerful...we are basically recording thoughts of the heart to be read by loving universal energies. Everyone is capable of finding things to be grateful for...most just get too caught up in the heartache of those cycles of negativity. Persistence is key...because nobody is perfect. I find the combination of writing things down and saying them out loud...and even just repeating them in the mind with good intention like a mantra...and visualizing them too...manifest and draw closer the desired reality so much faster. It makes me happy to hear that your two year process of turning your life around is going so well and you can see some of the results of your hard work all around you!

Great reply, stay focused and have a positive outlook throughout our lives!

Very well said and true my friend!
Hope you are doing well. <3

Thanks for the post. I feel I'm stuck in a negativity cycle myself. I'm fully aware of things that I can change and what I need to do to change, but I seem to hold onto the negative thoughts like it's the one ring . The universe is telling me in subtle ways what I need to do and just when I decide to do it, I wake up with an existential crisis. I really am a lot better off than I was before my wife was killed and I wish she could see me now, so I just have to muster up the willpower that you have.

So sorry to hear about your wife. I know all about hanging on to negative thoughts and existential crises.
You're not alone there. But you channel it quite well through your music.

'All that we are is the result of what we have our thought'.. 'The mind is everything , what we think we became ' ..Buddha...

Every thought has energy and we are responsible to amplify the energy or simply ignore to dissolve the energy that we have created. Positive and negative thoughts are simply our own perception. What we feel negative today may turn out to be utilmate positive thoughts in future. We have control of labelling positive and negative thoughts. Follow your heart it knows everything. Universe is constantly communicating with us thru our heart .
Enjoy the journey of self discovery . Being positive and optimistic are firat step to the world of being spiritual .

Excellent thoughts, thank you so much for sharing!

somtiems with the cycles of negativity it makes me think of the Karmic wheel and how to break through it, sometimes I wonder if you need Ninja roundhouse kicks to undo the chains

Some days are def harder than others that's for sure.
I need to learn some ninja moves....

  • Identify a positive cycle you would like to stick to.
  • Cycles are all about habits, brain plasticity & subconscious. You need to work to change your habits for 3 weeks or adopt positive cycles or get rid of negative cycles.
  • Brain is plastic, i.e., it changes its form physically with your habits. The subconscious makes it natural for you to get engaged into something. Within 3 weeks, brain circuits will take a new shape and what's difficult for you at the moment will become natural for you after that.
  • Be dedicated, devoted, consistent & strong-willed for 3 weeks & you can do anything.

Thanks so much for this comment.....it's very helpful to me!

The change from negativity is a challenging one, I am trying to make the best of what I can and see positivity in all my daily activities, but the negative thoughts always seem to pop up.
Am slowly making progress though.
Thanks for this

I completely understand that. It's quite difficult. Being aware of those thoughts and feelings is the first step.

Now that is something of an impossibility for me to do. My brain thrives on negativity. It makes me work but keeps me angry all the time. Best of luck to you.

Best of luck to you as well!

I think journaling in general is so powerful- I have kept a journal since middle school (and still have it). Since then, I have collected journals of various kinds. I haven't been writing in one lately though... perhaps it is time to get back to it!

You should! Hope you are doing well lovely. <3

This is a very insightful and inspiring piece. I feel stuck myself in a negative loop. I recently learnt about the law of attraction and I've been in a reflective bit for a while.

Thanks to you piece, I know where to start from. Well, I can't leave where I am for the moment but I will begin with the daily gratitude journal.

Thanks for sharing

I've followed you for more

Blessings

Cool, I think you'll find the gratitude journal quite helpful. And keep reading about the Law of Attraction it will help as well. Blessings to you.

Good activity to stay positive, and cast off the negativity.

I have let go also some burden. But lots of work to do. By the way loved the quote from Buckaroo Banzai, I often use it (wherever you go there you are) totally underrated movie.

Such a great quote right?
It is very hard work, I agree.

I agree, rather iconic quote. Well our struggles and how we get over them also shape who we are. But there is a time to break vicious circles.

Your words are so true.

I was browsing through my feed earlier and noticed a post from someone who has supported me.
The post was so negative about how hard it is to get noticed on steemit.
I really wanted to upvote, comment, and support that post, but I couldn't.

That person's negativity is separating them from their friends.

That's true as well. Most people don't want to be around someone who is negative and gloomy all the time.

Negativity is a prison and it cycles are the chains that tie ones down in that prison. One is great way to get out of the prison and break all his cycles is gratitude

meditative gratitude exercise, thinking about or writing down what I was grateful and thankful for.

@isaria thanks for motivational master piece

Very true, great way of describing it.

This write-up is awesome loved every part of it, and it will be great help if you were to share the YouTube video you found somewhat two years back.

If everyday was awesome then the life wont be this interesting anymore, through the hard time we become stronger and our tomorrow becomes more filled with happiness, yesterday memories go a long way as to strengthen our believe that the future will be better

Very true, well said!

Really amazing post, and yes it's really important to stay positive in life because positivity can lead you towards the successful life because positivity always keeps your vision in a right path. And to stay positive in life, in my opinion everyone should do some kind of exercises because while exercising you spend an deep time with yourself and that helps in becoming an best version of yourself and inturn help you in building of positiveness in your thinking process. Thanks for sharing this post with us.

Stay Blessed.

Thank you! Very true about exercise....it's so important. Thanks for the reminder!

Welcome. 🙂

A beautifully written sharing of how one goes about slowly changing their routine. I applaud your success. It is so easy to backslide into negativity, the feeling like returning home where everything feels normal. I tried using the journal some time back, but fell out of using it before it became a habit. Your post is a reminder to start back with it again, thank you.

You're welcome and thank you for your comment! It is so easy to fall back into negativity. It is a life-long practice indeed.

Thank you for sharing your story! I strongly believe in positive thoughts! Sometimes it gets rough, but there comes a day when you realize it's totally worthy! ♥

Very true Vera! Thanks for sharing your thoughts!

Yes ma'am, I have being through that cycle before and I can confidently say that am beyond it,. But I must tell you, it wasn't easy because all I could do was read books and I just try to do a lot of weird things that I wouldn't do normally . Thanks for sharing ur experience

I'm glad to hear that you are beyond it!

Wow! I'm so in love with your content @isaria most especially these pictures..... They are xoxo artistic.... Thank you for sharing!

Thank you!

positive thought and you have a great writing power

Living with some unreal perception is one of the worse things.
One of the things that makes the virtual real and impossible , possible is Positive thinking

Yes I demand it !!! The cycles crumble . Great post!!!

Very interesting, life itself is all about creativity, am in love with your write up

milk treading gif

What do you think about moral panic? Check out this post about moral panic and drop your comment.
https://steemit.com/psychology/@juliusjamex/moral-panic-31ee2a6bf8c74