You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Psychology Addict # 26 | Depression – Where to Draw the Line?

in #psychology6 years ago (edited)

In the human brain this is an area which actively develops both prenatally and during the first two years after birth. This finding is particularly relevant for mental-health professionals because the hippocampus is an area that also plays a part in controlling the HPA axis – a system that operates in stress responses.
So it has helped understanding of depression as for as is the case of new borns.

On the other note how i experience depression is due to memory , i play the event time and again in my memory which depresses me emotionally and keep on thinking about what if I could have done "specific task/situation" in this way or that way.
In second types of "events" which depress me are "revenge related" that i keep the memory of that event alive and want to avenge for that and if avenging is out of my reach then "every other scenario" relevant to previous experience "increases" my "stock" of depression. which was depicted in your article as:

Prior to his treatment, Mr. B thought he was a failure at everything.

But when it gets shared and you feel other people also go through such states in similar scenarios then one feels peaceful.
Similarly if a person keeps in mind that a "specific event" was done intentionally to "stay in one's memory and haunt him", then depression goes away fast as compared to not focusing on the patterns of depressions previously experienced.

Very nice read but was a bit difficult and long as well :-)

Sort:  

The way you experience your difficult feelings is explained by the pattern of negative thinking put forward by CBT @kay-khosa. It is all about challenging those thoughts and try to make difference sense of them. Try to change the meaning and the interpretation you give to those thoughts. I know this is easier said than done. But, the secret is not to try t achieve this overnight!

I am so sorry you found the post a bit difficult and long! I swear I thought of you when I finished writing it. I even told my husband :D I promise I will be more concise next time :)

I wish you peace of mind and all the best.

Hahahaha.. that is so nice of you, you have identified the problem so cure me as well :D
Write in your own natural way but people here have different educational backgrounds. I find it difficult to follow, dont know about others.
I find you a very nice person. May God give you health, wealth and Peace of mind.