Gifts that Come from Getting Creative with Food

in #psychology6 years ago (edited)

I live in Vienna, Austria where all the grocery stores (except a select few) are closed on Sundays. So typically, I have to make sure we have enough food for the weekend. Otherwise, it can be an inconvenience when - the food you planned to make on a Sunday won't happen because you forgot certain ingredients. When this happens I don't necessarily want to go out of my way to a grocery store and pay double the amount than I usually would pay at a normal store.

Yet, funnily enough there was a Sunday where - instead of kicking myself for forgetting to get enough food for Sunday's typical (American) breakfast of bacon and eggs - I decided to get CREATIVE and USE what I had in my apartment to see what I could come up with.

jasmin-schreiber-703329-unsplash.jpg

I looked at our vegetables in our pantry, then the goat cheese in our fridge and it took me back to a memory when my husband's mother made one of the best breakfasts I ever had. She sliced vegetables of cucumber and bell pepper (paprika) sprinkled with salt, small blocks of goat cheese, served with a side of hard boiled eggs and fresh bread rolls. It was so simple, nutritious and perfect, I decided to do something like that.

With a handful of cherry tomatoes, I washed them under cold water and sliced each tomato in half. I placed them on a wooden serving board, knowing as I place them on this board I'll be creating a nice presentation of the breakfast we're going to eat. I placed a block of feta cheese on the board and cut it up into small squares. Next I sliced the cucumbers into thin circles, and then ordered the foods in a tri-colori fashion - so there were individuals lines of white, green, and red on the wooden board. I was able to fit in sliced hard-boiled eggs (3) onto the board as well.

anne-sophie-benoit-568304-unsplash.jpg

We ate breakfast with some fresh bread from a nearby bakery and made an agreement to make this meal every Sunday. It's healthy, easy to make, delicious and allows you to design how you want to eat the foods.

I found the gifts that come from getting creative with food can be: discovering hidden talents (like being innovative), and finding out new meals you love.