Who Am I if I Drop All My Business Successes?

in #psychology6 years ago

jj-ying-215316-unsplash.jpg

Who am I without my project accomplishments? Without my business achievements? My school or work successes? What if they melted away. Who would I be? I would be left standing as a person, like any other. Normal.

I realized I placed certain definitions and beliefs on myself when it comes to the successes and positions I am in or was in within projects/work and business. Where - just because I accomplished, created, or am successful in something doesnt make me (nor ever make me) more or better than my neighbor / fellow human.

"Because I (created/won/am successful in/accomplished) ___________, I am (insert harmful comparison better/smarter/more important) than _________."

It takes a massive load of self-humbleness to stand and realize the realism that in all honesty - the perceptions and beliefs we have in ourselves that are within comparision and superiority/inferiority towards others are all in our heads. In reality, on a physical level, we connect with all humans in the following ways: We share our living existence on this planet, and we have common physical needs.

Unfortunately the reality to realize we are similar to our fellow human (more than we realize) is overtaken by harmful belief systems and ego. We get in our own way of connecting with others in deep meaningful ways because of our perceptions/ideas we are somehow better than/less than others.

Especially with social media where every LIKE👍 sends a shot of dopamine to our brains, and having a certain number of followers on Instagram makes us feel a certain value in ourselves. We tend to look down and/or create a (psychological) hierarchial relationship with others according to a status or position we are in. When the fact is, we're all in this together.

Would it be scary to realize the normalcy of everything and who we are? This is something I am currently exploring myself.

Sort:  

@michelleterese Thanks for the psychological words.