You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Psychology Addict # 33 | Visits from Lost Loved Ones & Out-of-Body Experiences

in #psychology6 years ago (edited)

Very interesting and well-written post! I hope your brother doesn't get haunted anymore.

I had a 'spontaneous OBE' years ago when I was 19. I couldn't sleep one night. I had heard that counting sheep helps, but that seemed silly. As I had just read the book 'Jonathan Livingston Seagull', I decided to count seagulls instead. After some time, my attention focused on one particlar seagull. In my mind, I moved closer and closer to him, until I could smell the sea, see his feathers move in the wind, and hear his seagull cries. I was intensely focused at this point.

Suddenly, an electric current pulsed through my body, like a switch had been turned on. I literally felt electric. Then my 'electric body' moved out from my physical body in the direction of past my head and out. I was flying... my awareness was outside my body...and I was scared as hell.

I had never heard or read about OBEs. I thought I was being 'possessed' or something haha. My panic, and my desire to be back in my body caused me to return back into it. After I 'clicked' back into the body, the electric switch flipped off.

I was baffled to say the least, always wondered about it.

Great post and topic, hope to see more.

Sort:  

Hello @mmo-mmo :)

What an incredibly beautiful OBE experience you have shared here with us. Well at least until you got scared! The way you mentioned how you focused on that singular thing (the seagull), just makes me think that you reached your OBE though meditation! But, I couldn't say that for sure because it also sound like you were falling asleep. This is a very common stage people report these experiences.

I do hope this post has clarified this topic a little bit for you :)

All the best & thank you for this amazing comment! Beautiful :D

Thank you for your kind reply. I had an even more strange experience in the Sahara desert, if you make it to my page one day. Looking ahead to your new posts!