Taming the monkey mind

in #psychology6 years ago (edited)

20180622_082508_0001.png
Sourced with Pixabay

separator

The world is in such a rush to network with each other.

We want to make friends with others but we often forget that inside this physical body, there is a conscious curious monkey that pushes all of our buttons to test our focus and what will hold our attention most.

It will often misbehave when we are trying to sleep and all it wants to do is play.

Play with what you're going to do with your life. Play with the what-ifs that could have happened if you didn't make the mistakes of indifference.

The monkey often causes random tangents that engage your mind in its seeking mode and if you're not careful, the monkey can keep rolling out thoughts that keep you trapped in sleeplessness until the sun rises and you're off to a brand new day with drunk symptoms and a fatigued spirit.

When you breathe, the power of imagination is pure gold.

sunset-1373171_1920.jpg
Sourced with Pixabay
separator

My deep diaphragm breathing takes my soul to the beach. I am not one who creates footprints anymore. With every inhale, the waves are pulled back into the sea. And as I exhale, the waves crash onto the sands and levels all footprints below it.

As my little monkey makes his footprints and plays, I am the ocean that naturally resets the sands.

If he builds a fortified sand castle to hide the prince of shame, my breathing remains consistent and deep, and everything is eventually washed away in my sea of tranquility.

The monkey is frustrated when his ultimate creative innovations are often destroyed. So he gets more and more creative, and in the beginning of your practice, he will win and your ocean will rage tsunamis and attempt to kill-switch the goading monkey. The ocean can destroy just the same as it can keep your peace.

The monkey will survive at all attempts of your desire for it to be gone, for sleep is what you think you need the most.

A book called The Little Prince by the French writer
Antoine de Saint-Exupéry really highlighted my intentions on what to do with my monkey.

Like the fox for the little prince, the ocean and monkey were destined to be friends.

"I am looking for friends. What does that mean -- tame?"

"It is an act too often neglected," said the fox. "It means to establish ties."

"To establish ties?"

"Just that," said the fox. "To me, you are still nothing more than a little boy who is just like a hundred thousand other little boys. And I have no need of you. And you, on your part, have no need of me. To you I am nothing more than a fox like a hundred thousand other foxes. But if you tame me, then we shall need each other. To me, you will be unique in all the world. To you, I shall be unique in all the world....

Antoine de Saint-Exupéry

fantasy-2368432_1920.jpg
Sourced with Pixabay
separator

When you've decided to tame your monkey, it becomes your monkey. The only monkey in the world that you have given significance to. And when the monkey is loved and cared for by the peaceful ocean that is gentle and clear, the monkey will often learn when is the proper time for play, and when it is time to sleep.

Learn about your moon phases. What tides are best for play, and when it is time for your restful sleep. Life inside is best when your ocean does not react, and when the monkey knows he has an awesome friend.

Thank you for tuning in :)

separator
footer
separator